We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Save
You added The Otesaga Resort Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special from $289!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My sisters and I were looking for someplace special to celebrate our Mom's birthday. The Otesaga met out initial requirements: conveniently located for Mom, with activities available in the area. We were very pleased with our choice. The staff is well trained. They understand it's their business to make sure you're having a good time. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The air conditioning worked well, and we had no problems with water not draining out of the tub. The hair dryer was substandard. A stay at the Otesaga isn't cheap, but the rate includes breakfast and dinner. The food was very good; the waitstaff was outstanding. Although this was a perfect location for us, it wouldn't be too everyone's liking. (Men and boys over 12 must wear jackets for dinner; if you don't want to dress up, this isn't the place for you.) We enjoyed relaxing on the famous porch after dinner, looking out over the lake and the 18th green. I don't think it would have been so enjoyable if I had children or teenagers with me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    70
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
95
131
3
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We loved our stay at the Otesaga Hotel. We wanted to savor every minute relaxing by the pool, playing golf, swimming in the beautiful lake and relaxing on the veranda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is just beautiful. My family and I went to up to the Otesaga for the Paranormal weekend and we had a ball. The food was delicious, the staff were very nice and pleasant. The rooms were clean and spacious. We met some great people. Plenty of things to do for the kids and the adults. My husband won second prize in the costume party. We since have been up for a one day getaway and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Otesaga is a beautiful property with lovely, large, well-appointed rooms. The staff were outstanding. Gregg the bellman was helpful, cheerful and remembered our names. Tyler, the concierge provided Map Quest directions to a men's clothing store. Patrick, in the dining room provided perfect table arrangements for our large family of 14 adults and 12 children, including an infant. The dinners were delicious served in beautiful presentations. The lake views are exquisite with opportunities for canoeing, water sports and golf. The was a perfect family vacation for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is an old world hotel that still has great old world atmosphere and charm. Relaxing on the rocking chairs on the porch looking at the lake and the golf course. It is a very special place that tries to balance keeping up with the times yet making you feel like you stepped back a hundred years.
The service was great and very friendly, it is obvious the staff is treated well and they are eager to treat guests even better, from the cleaning crew to the bell boys and waiters. They were all special. The Otesaga offers great elegant dinning with great food.
Even the shop at the hotel had a surprisingly nice selection of resort wear and gifts at very reasonable prices.
Golf lovers would simply love the golf course. We enjoyed it tremendously.
One of the best things about this resort is it being in such a secluded area on the lake yet everything is within walking distance to town with the Baseball hall of fame and more.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for a special getaway. It is worth the trip to come just for the Otesaga.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We booked a room for several nights, expecting to enjoy a view of the lake on the lovely grand porch. Unfortunately, management booked (overbooked) the hotel with a convention of Saving & Loan Executives. Management constructed three very large tents between the lake and the grand porch. NO VIEW. Non at all. Next management took All the rockers (40+) and moved them to an area soley for the S&L Executives. All the restaurants and bars were full of noisey conventioneers. Even the lobby was full of sign-up booths.

I wrote to management and the manager responded that he had to give priority to the convention. Full paying guest like us were second class citizens. He also said it was not his job to tell guest before arrival that the amenities of the hotel would not be available.

Very Poor Management. Do not book a room at hotel. Stay elsewhere in Cooperstown and drive over to hotel. If you can see the lake, find a rocker, stay for a drink and leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here on business recently. This is an old classic resort that is certainly showing some of that age now. A little dinginess is some corners--but not too bad. Construction on the front entrance was in process during our stay--had to enter from the lower grill entrance, which took some of the initial arrival "charm" away.

Excellent, old resort with suberb service and cuisine. Because everyone is trying so hard and succeeding with service and food and other hospitality items like rocking chairs facing the lake, tea service in the lobby in the afternoons, etc., I stop noticing that the property is really in need of some updating. It is the best and only first class property within Cooperstown, and if that is your destination, the Otesaga is the best place to stay. Breakfasts are simpy great--all the food was, in fact. Golf course looked fantastic, though I did not get a chance to play.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Address: 60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the Historic Grand Resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Otesaga Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.