We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true B&B experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whisperin' Pines Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whisperin' Pines Chalet
4128 CR 11, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Mays Landing, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true B&B experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely time at the Whisperin' Pines Chalet. Due to an emergency we didn't arrive until 10 PM to check in and Christian and Erin were very accommodating. We were visiting Cooperstown in April, so no one else was staying at the B&B. Because of this, they kindly upgraded our room for free. Whisperin' Pines is conveniently located a short drive away from both the Hall of Fame and the Ommegang Brewery. The homemade breakfasts were excellent! The only real problem we encountered was the lack of cell phone service. So, if you have Verizon, be aware of this. Christian an Erin did allow us to use their land line to make calls, but of course we use our phones for more than just making calls. If you're looking for a more rustic and quiet rooming experience, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Saratoga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I hesitate to write this because of the first two comments in the title. It couldn't be truer. But unfortunately, the accomodations are poor. Old trucks in the yard, tarps scattered here and there, a small lawn, and worn furniture. If you can past all of that (and it will be tough) you will certainly enjoy your stay. Great people.

I wouldn't have written this but felt compelled since the brochure isn't factual. "Luxurious" Sorry to say, the B and B is actually very rough. "First Class Suites." Sorry, not true. "European charm". No. Sorry.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Whisperin' Pines Chalet, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We have taken your recommendations in your review and done some upgrades/clean up. When you were here it was our off-season and we did not have all of winter clean up finished. In the off-season we give discounted rates for that reason. We have removed the plow truck. A tree had fallen on our son's tree house we have repaired that and removed the tarps. We have also built a new roof over the main house and front deck. The view from the suite you stayed in is of the small yard to the creek. The front yard is the size of a soccer field. The faded furniture on the outside deck I am having new cushions made. We hope that you will give us a second chance if the near future. Chris and Erin Doucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was a long term guest at The Whisperin' Pine Chalet summer 2011-I was treated like one of the family!
The accommodations were clean, quiet and convenient to all Cooperstown activity and attractions.
The Doucas family were excellent hosts and always went out of their way to make me comfortable.
Spending the evening listening to the brook while enjoying the deck was the icing on the cake! Home away from home! I shall return!

Room Tip: The Pinecone will always hold a special place in my heart!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

There is no better compliment to a trip to Cooperstown than staying at Whisperin' Pines Chalet. It truly feels like home staying there.

Room Tip: We always request the VIP Suite because it's right off the kitchen and the brook runs along that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whisperin' Pines Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whisperin' Pines Chalet

Address: 4128 CR 11, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whisperin' Pines Chalet invites you to enjoy European charm in a country setting. A large Swiss style Chalet, Whisperin' Pines has grown from a small summer camp to a luxurious bed & breakfast. 2 miles North from Dreams Park and 3 South from downtown Cooperstown. We accept VISA, MC, Discover, checks and cash. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisperin' Pines Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whisperin' Pines Chalet to your Saves list