We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pioneer Patio Restaurant

The Pioneer Patio Restaurant
46 Pioneer Street (Pioneer Alley), Cooperstown, NY 13326
607-544-1076
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 57 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Cuisines: American, German
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick lunch, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. I just had soup and a salad, but the salad was loaded with a variety of ingredients, very fresh. The lobster bisque was tasty. The staff was friendly and attentive. Would definitely stop here again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    17
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pub Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Have been 3 different times and all 3 times the food was consistently good, the atmosphere was relaxed and the prices were fair.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy Patio Easily Overlooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stopped by here for a congratulatory beer and light lunch after biting the bullet and haggling (successfully) for an autographed Cal Ripken, Jr. HOF 2007 baseball. Friendly service but out of a seasonal beer and staple burger item. Great spot to have a beer with friends/family in the evening - year-round white Christmas lights are always nice!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than I Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am a southern boy and love my Texas BBQ. The Brisket sandwich here is really good and not expensive. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Entertaining and satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sometimes when I read reviews, I always wonder what happens to people. A burr in the saddle, a bad day, too hot, too cold, etc. seems to justify some of these reviews. I along with other friends of mine always head to the Pioneer Patio when we are in Cooperstown (and we are there usually 4-5 times a year). We love this place and also got to know the owner, his family and staff while we visited. The service was always terrific, the food was good, but more importantly, the beer was always refreshing and cold.
I have watched this restaurant develop over the many years that it has existed and saw how well it has been managed. You can have fun here just talking with the staff and they always jump through the hoops to assist you.
We have never had a bad meal there and I'm sure if we did, the owner would take car of the problem. An excellent place to go to for a quick meal when visiting the lovely village of Cooperstown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pioneer Patio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pioneer Patio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pioneer Patio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.