We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenix Inn on River Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phoenix Inn on River Road
Save
You added The Phoenix Inn on River Road to your Saves list
1270 Co. Hwy. 33, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Bronx, New York
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This Inn has everything you could possibly need.

We stayed in the Adirondack Suite for just one night to see a concert at the Brewery near by. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was great and there was plenty of pillows and towels. There's a bookshelf with booklets for things to do around town, but Vickie and Jim have great suggestions. There's a nice living room where you can sit and read or meet the other guests.

They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Knowing that we weren't familiar with the area and drinking at the show, they offered to drop us off and pick us up after. Not many people would do that for their guests. We really enjoyed getting to know them and felt right at home.

We also loved the beautiful wooden counter where they serve fresh homemade breakfast in the morning and treats throughout the day.

We're staying at The Phoenix Inn next time we head up to Cooperstown. Thanks again Vickie and Jim for everything!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickigates, Owner at The Phoenix Inn on River Road, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We can only improve our services to our guests through their feedback. We hope you do stay with us again in the future. It was a pleasure to have you both as guests. Jim & Vicki Gates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I cannot say enough about how nice our stay was at the Phoenix Inn! The place was immaculately clean, well-kept, and comfortable. Many thanks to Vickie and Jim for really going out of their way to make it a perfect little vacation. We stayed 2 nights and would recommend it to anyone. Here's our breakdown of the pros and cons:

PROS:
Extremely clean rooms and restrooms
Comfortable beds
Great breakfast with homemade goodies
Whole Inn was in excellent condition
Friendly, service-minded owners who make you feel at home

CONS:
If I had to say anything slightly negative, it would be that the hot water in the shower had a sulpher smell. But that really is being knit-picky and is no reflection on the owners. The overall stay was wonderful!

I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pros:
1. Allowed a one-night stay on an August weekend, most places required more nights.
2. Out of town, on a quiet road. Good for us, not for those who want to be closer to town.
3. Friendly welcome.
4. Very clean.
5. Good bed (Liberty Room).
6. Nice living room, although we didn't use it.

Cons:
1. Wonky, iffy wifi in room, needs update.
2. Breakfast featured commercial pastries, cereals, and an 8:15 "hot dish," a french toast sugar bomb the day we were there.
3. Room decor is on the cheesy side of "traditional."

All in all a good experience, we would go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickigates, Owner at The Phoenix Inn on River Road, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as we continually strive to make their stay with us as comfortable as possible. Generally, when our guests write a review for us, we respond to them privately through their e-mal address; however, with this review we felt a need to respond via the Trip Advisor site for the benefit of other potential guests.

We're sorry you had difficulty with our WiFi service in your room. We have not had a complaint from any other guests; however, perhaps with so many guests traveling with smart phones, Ipads, etc. we need to research the need to "amp up" our service.

We serve a full breakfast buffet style with a "hot dish" casserole offered daily. As many of our guests stay multiple nights (some for up to 7 for the local baseball camps), we offer a cycle of two egg based dishes followed by some type of French Toast casserole, etc. We realize that not all of our guests want to "indulge" in a rich breakfast casserole and therefore, always have the option of fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, all types of cereal including oatmeal and whole wheat bread and bagels. While I do not bake my own toasting products (bread, bagels, English muffins) and do purchase these at the store; all of my breakfast pastries (muffins, scones, coffeecakes, quick breads and muffins) are made by me. In the ten years we have owned the Inn, I have never served our guests a store bought breakfast pastry.

We're happy that you were pleased with the comfort of the bed, the cleanliness of your room and of our Inn overall and are glad to note that you would stay with us again.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us - it is only through the honest, constructive comments from our guests that we can alter our services to best meet their needs.

Vicki Gates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Inn is hands' down the best Inn we've ever stayed in. The standard of cleanliness was unsurpassed, the breakfasts varied and delicious (they even catered to special diets) and the price very fair. We found the hosts friendly, informative about all things Cooperstown, and yet unobtrusive, providing that balance, combining both a warm welcome, and personal space. We would come back in a heart-beat. Thanks Phoenix Inn, for the best few days of our 2-week vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Liberty Room, the only room to accomodate more than two people. We had our teenage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Jim and Vickie made my Hall of Fame visit one for the memory books. I traveled from Chicago and was greeted pleasantly. The Liberty Room was something out of a magazine, so neat and tidy. The option to sleep with the fan on/windows open or with the AC on was "cool." The set up of the inn is inviting and perfect for traveing with a companion or solo like myself. The breakfast is something to write home about. Vickie was so pleasant and her egg dishes are out of this world...beware if you re dieting...you WILL give in. The fruit, bagels, and choice of beverages were impressive for such a home-like setting.

Jim was awesome as well. As an avid baseball fan, former college coach, and former player he chatted with me more than he had to as I riddled him with questions (he is employed at the Hall of Fame and can answer your questions about visiting it). I was offered a membership while visiting the Hall of Fame and little did I know that I could use that to discount the already reasonable price Vickie charges.

If you are going to Cooperstown, there is only one place to stay and it is here...You get the best of the Village and still able to escape the crowds to rest at the perfect Cooperstown inn.

-Jared

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This lovely inn just outside Cooperstown was the perfect break from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area. Vicki made the stay pleasant and comfortable, offering a terrific breakfast and a space for snacks and our own beverages. Beautiful property that we wish we had had time to explore. Great location, too. We were able to get to Cooperstown and Oneonta easily for dinners, sight-seeing and fun. Love the area and this is a great home-base for a couple or family.

Room Tip: Our room had an en suite powder room with the main bathroom down the hall. Not a huge deal and fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

When I planned a visit to Cooperstown, I knew I wanted to stay at the Phoenix Inn again. Had stayed there a couple years ago and really enjoyed the hospitality (and great breakfasts!) I was pleased that the Inn was as pleasant and comfortable as I remembered. Booked the downstairs 2-room suite and had plenty of space. Vickie and Jim Gates are wonderful innkeepers who do the little extra things that make you feel at home. Will stay with them at the Phoenix Inn on my next visit whenever that might be!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenix Inn on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Inn on River Road

Address: 1270 Co. Hwy. 33, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix on River Road is conveniently located to the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown Dreams Park, Glimmerglass Opera, Farmer's Museum and Fenimore Art Museum. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning, wifi, full breakfast included. Full attention to our guests' needs is a must! We pride ourselves on keeping our rooms immaculate and our guests happy! We are open Memorial Day Weekend through Columbus Day Weekend. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenix Inn on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.