We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN, Friendly, and personal connections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground
Save
You added Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground to your Saves list
2149 County Highway 31, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel amenities
Summerside, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FUN, Friendly, and personal connections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boys and I spent one night here and will definitely be bringing my wife with us for a longer stay next time! We stumbled upon Shadow Brook, after a long days drive and were lucky we did. The staff totally welcomed us, saw us to our site, and gave us a personal tour. The boys spent the first hour and a half in the pool cooling down, then showered in the super clean facilities. The arcade was great, and even better was the family fishing at dusk; the boys caught and released lots of fish and were so excited! Staff came to deliver wood and even helped start our fire and share some stories and good conversation. I also have to report that my one boy forgot his iPod there, and they contacted us and mailed it back to us in Canada without hesitation. Shadow Brook is a campground I will be telling everyone to stay at, and I know we will be back again someday! Thanks SB, from PEI Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Plains, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our 28th annual stay at Shadow Brook Campground, and we had an outstanding experience. The office staff was efficient and polite, and we spent very little time getting registered. Frank escorted us to our site and helped get our trailer situated. This campground is attractively landscaped, has a great pool and a playground for the kids, and is very clean. The sites are a nice size; you are never lined up like sardines here! It is a quiet, family campground and our group of 17 around the campfire did get noisy after quiet hours. Cathy simply asked us politely, respectfully, and in a non-threatening manner to keep the noise down. Our large family group has always been treated well by the Crums, and I would highly recommend this campground to any family hoping to find camping accommodations near Cooperstown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just got home today from a great weekend at Shadow Brook. It was our second time there this year and we have booked another weekend in September. "Halloween Weekend" There are lots of activities for the kids.. a very family friendly camp ground!
The campground is clean and well maintained. When you get to your site it looks as if no one has been there ahead of you and we try to leave our site the same way when we depart.
The owners are friendly and go out of their way to make your camping experience a pleasure.
They make you feel like a welcome guest.
The restrooms and showers are immaculate, private and clean. It's dog friendly and everyone picks up after their 4 legged friends, no random poop lying around the campground (not like some of the bigger, higher priced campgrounds we have been to)
The price of wood is reasonable and they deliver it right to your site in a tractor bucket!!! :)
The pool is beautiful and we spent quite sometime swimming and lying in the sun while other people in our party took in the fishing at the pond. Lots of bass and catfish who seem to really love Nathan's hotdogs!!! LOL
We all had a great camping experience and are looking forward to returning. Thank you "Shadow Brook family" we had a great weekend and can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willseyville, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just got back from a couple days of camping Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground. The place was very clean. The showers were hot, private and clean. We didn't have kids with us but the kids there were having fun fishing at the pond and swimming.
We were there during the week not a weekend it was very quiet and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went as a family of five July 19th-21st, which was Christmas in July week at the campground. The kids are 15, 6, and 3, and all had a fabulous time with all the activities scheduled for the weekend. They enjoyed face painting and hand painted tattoos, and an interactive music show, where they played instruments, and were welcome to step up to the mic to tell jokes or sing, if they so desired. That was followed by a wagon ride with Santa, including a guitar player to sing Christmas carols, and a little gift for each child, which was then followed up by a magic show! Besides all that, the kids also fished the very very stocked pond, where my 6yr old caught 20 fish in one day, played on the playground, swam in the pool, shot some pool, and made many friends. The cabin we stayed in was great, with a huge/wide bunk bed and what seemed to be larger than a queen size bed across from the bunks. It included a dresser, fan, microwave, and small fridge as well as a picnic table inside. There was plenty of space for all we had brought, unlike some other cabins we have rented at other campgrounds. Bathrooms were completely clean and well maintained, as was the pool, showers, and entire campground. We will definitely be going back again for the Halloween weekend in September. My 6yr old said this is the best campground ever, and I have to say it was a very enjoyable experience for the 5 of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We rented a cabin and tent site which we were able to get right next to each other. We came with 9 kids who are our current and previous foster children- many who have never camped before. Very stocked pond- every child caught several fish! Many activities on Saturday to keep everyone entertained. A little snug in regards to space and we drove about 2 miles down the road for cheaper items most times. The pool was fabulous and clean. Nice playground for our younger kids. Very friendly owners and staff -Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: more space with cabin rentals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a fun time. The positives: the grounds are very well kept and the bathrooms and swimming pool are clean. Fellow campers were friendly and well-behaved and when quiet hours began at 10 pm, it was truly quiet - one of the quietest campgrounds in which we have ever stayed. The pond was well stocked and provided much fishing fun for my husband and son.

The negatives: size of the sites vary by a lot and some only have views of the RV in the next site. Our site was between two roads near the entrance so there was a lot of traffic both coming and going. And while there are three restroom buildings, only one has showers - that is four showers for the entire campground.

Overall we were pleased with our stay and would definitely consider returning, just not to site #9!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground

Address: 2149 County Highway 31, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, highly rated family RV park and campground with spacious sites in beautiful park setting. Large RV and tent sites plus rustic cabin rentals, park model rentals and deluxe travel trailer rentals. Conveniently located 9 miles north from village of Cooperstown on the east side of Otsego Lake. 1 Mile south of State Route 20. Easy access to and from campground. Close to area attractions, shopping, restaurants. Perfect score from Good Sam for cleanliness and beauty of campground facilities and setting. Big rig friendly, escort to site. 30 And 50 amp electric. Amenities include: heated pool, 3+ acre lake with catch and release stocked fishing, paddle boat rentals, children's playground,recreation room with TV, ping pong, pool table, foosball, large coin arcade with games, sports areas with sports equipment rentals, commercial laundry, propane filling station, dump station, country store with wide assortment of goods, firewood delivered to site, WiFi at sites( small fee),themed weekends with activities and entertainment, pet friendly, group camping areas for reunions. Daily, weekly and monthly sites and rentals. Seasonal sites available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.