We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Cooperstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cooper Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cooper Inn
Save
You added The Cooper Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326 (Formerly Cooper Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring stays from $139!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place in Cooperstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very nice room, very helpful staff, great location. Go in winter. Cooperstown is a beautiful village in winter snows, and the rates at the Cooper Inn are much more affordable. Breakfast is fine, not outstanding, but certainly fine. This is our 2nd winter stay and rooms both times were very good. The Cooper Inn had a special arrangement with the Hawkeye Grill in the Otesaga Hotel each time. You have to arrange for it online. It is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Carolgerry1,
Winter is definitely a beautiful time of the year in Cooperstown, and we’re so glad that you decided to stay with us again. Thank you for your loyalty and for your kind comments regarding our rooms, the staff, and the property's location, we’ll make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they'll enjoy knowing that you appreciated the service received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    22
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
62
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

An understated elegance about this Inn makes it easy to settle in and enjoy. Beautifully appointed rooms. Excellent location within walking distance of some very good restaurants and just down the road from the Otesaga where one can enjoy its amenities as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Nancy L,
Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, we’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay including the various amenities available and its location, guests love that about the Inn! Looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at the Cooper Inn in November. The inn itself is kept very well -- all public rooms and our own room were exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom has wonderful thick bath towels. The included breakfast buffet is okay and included in the room price. Hopefully, they'll improve the coffee served even if they have to raise the price a bit. ( I do love good, strong French-roast coffee.) The clientele while we were there was quiet and respectful of other guests. The inn is adjacent to the village of Cooperstown -- a brief one block walk. This also adds to the inn's appeal. The Cooper Inn's association with the Hotel Otesaga (also within walking distance) is quite nice. Coupons are given to Cooper Inn guests for a complimentary glass of wine when dining at the Otesaga and you also get a breakfast discount at that establishment. Off season (we don't care for summer travel and are not keen about either baseball or opera), we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kay E,
Thank you for staying at the recently renovated Cooper Inn, we appreciate your kind comments as well as your suggestions, they are always welcome and we’ll make sure to share your feedback about the coffee with the rest of the team, we can certainly look at making adjustments to accommodate to every guest’s need. We’re glad that you were able to take advantage of our dining discounts; it’s a favorite among our guests! We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cooper Inn while we were in town for the Baseball Hall of Fame . This inn is within walking distance of everything in town. Perfect location. The inn is decorated beautifully - rooms are very clean. The weather was snowy (lovely for a walk) and cold - but the Inn was very warm - the hotel staff was very attentive to clearing the snow on the walks and driveways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Killeryankee,
How thoughtful of you to post a review about your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, thank you for your positive comments, we'll make sure to share them with the rest of the team. Being located in the heart of Cooperstown, the Inn provides for a great experience as guests may enjoy all the local attractions within a walking distance. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at The Cooper Inn this weekend. We had adjoining rooms seperated by a bathroom. Which is a great feature for an adult traveling with her parents. We could still communicate when we wanted to and shut the door when privacy was wanted. It was a wonderful place to stay. Just keep in mind you are in a tourist town. Being from Newport RI, I found it to be nicer than some places here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Kristen H,
Thank you for your recent visit from Newport, RI, we’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cooper Inn. We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review, we always enjoy and value our guests’ feedback. We hope to see you again in Cooperstown in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My daughter, wife and I stayed here for the Friday and Saturday of Vets Day weekend 2013. We took a two room "suite" and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The rooms were clean and bright although the furniture was pedestrian which did not detract from the experience. We parked the car Friday and didn't need it again until we left. Everything is within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful and contributed to our having a great little mini vaca!!!! I would definitely recommend the Cooper Inn to anyone. One does need to remember that this is a tourist town, (we come from Newport, RI) so prices will be higher than elsewhere, but we didn't find them exorbitant by any means.

Room Tip: We were in 259/260 which had a twin in one room and a queen & a twin in the other. A bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear ChiefGunsRetired,
Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn during your recent visit as well as for your kind endorsement, we’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations and we’re happy that you had a similar experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma,New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Cooper Inn the first week of November for two nights.Could not ask for a more friendly staff. Our room was immaculate. This old building is within walking distance to just about everything in Cooperstown.We had a grand stay at the Cooper Inn...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Redroof2006,
We’re so excited to read that your stay at The Cooper Inn was ‘grand’, thank you for your kind remarks, it's great to know that our recent renovations are being well received by our guests. We’ll make sure that your comments are shared with the rest of the team who have a personal interest in each guest’s experience. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Address: 15 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive complimentary continental breakfast plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay as well as free access to Clarks Sports Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cooper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.