We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice overnight stay at the Cooper Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cooper Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cooper Inn
Save
You added The Cooper Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326 (Formerly Cooper Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring stays from $139!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
east norriton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice overnight stay at the Cooper Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I cannot say enough about our stay at the Cooper Inn this past weekend. My boyfriend and I received this special weekend as a Christmas gift from my sister. The inn is in a very good location, walking distance to everything including the Baseball Hall of Fame. Plenty of on-site parking which is really a plus. Rooms are spotless, quiet, and the bathrooms are large and they provide plenty of anemities. They also give you the option to use The Otesaga Resort Hotel which is also beautiful and in walking distance, they offer use of their gym, pool and restaurants. Breakfast is served downstairs in the parlor and is enough to start off your day. Staff is courteous and helpful. Beverages are available to guests throughout the day. Also if you are looking for a nice place to eat we suggest Nicoletta's Italian Cafe which is right on the main street. This is our third enjoyable visit to Cooperstown and not our last. I would definitely stay at the Cooper Inn when we decide to go back in the future. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    22
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
62
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This was our second visit to Cooperstown. My boyfriend and I had a very nice stay the first time at another local Inn, but we wanted to try this place for something different. We loved the Cooper Inn. My sister and her boyfriend traveled with us and stayed in the room across from ours. They were very pleased , too. Our room was very large and had a homey feel. The bed was comfortable.Our bathroom was huge, which is unusual for an older place like that. The staff are very nice. There is always somebody at the front desk to take care of you if you need them. It's within walking distance of the Hall of Fame, but most of the Inns in Cooperstown are. They serve a continental breakfast, which was enough for us. If you are looking for something hot, you can go to the nearby Otesaga Resort, about 2 blocks away and receive a special guest price for breakfast. You also have access to all of the amenities at the Otesaga Resort, like the gym and pool . That place is gorgeous. We spent some time in there just sitting on the porch taking in the view of the lake. We had a great stay at the Cooper Inn. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Beautiful setting that was in the town so everything was within walking distance. Very clean. Staff was polite, attentive and helpful. Very discreet, yet available. Tasty continental breakfast. Quiet. Lovely view of the creek behind the hotel. Reasonable price. So comfortable, I slept right through the alarm clock. It felt as if I was a guest in a friend's home.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The location was great. Its in walking distance to attractions and is a very beautiful place. We had a great time until...

We checked out and everything was fine. A few days later we receved a statement that showed $250 smoking charge. We didn't smoke in the room. Their proof was a stryofoam cup that they said had ash in it. It actually had Oreo cookie remnants in there. I tried explaining this to the manager but he wasn't hearing it.

Also said they had free wifi in the rooms but it wasnt working. Luckily a nearby medical center also had free wifi that worked.

Its a shame because their sister property, The Otesaga, is a beautiful resort and we were planning to stay a week in the summer but now I will choose a different place

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We arrived on a rainy day in November, but we popped open the umbrellas and walked only 5 minutes to the Baseball Hall of Fame through town. it rained the whole day and night but we were still able to walk over to the otesaga because it was so close. Last time we were in Cooperstown we stayed there and it's very beautiful, but it is pricey and you have take the meal plan. Staying at the Cooper Inn gives you access to amenities at the Otesaga. The Cooper Inn is a very nice historic hotel. There is a nice little parlor area and breakfast room, also weather permitting there is an outside area to eat also. our room was very nice, it was actually a room with a queen bed and a little hallway connected to another room with two beds and a bathroom in the middle. There was also another little room with a bed....definitely a good size for the four of us. In the parlor they have wine and drinks that could be bought on the honor system. The town of Cooperstown is very quaint with many little baseball memorabilia shops. We ate at the
Cooperstown Diner which only has about four tables and a counter which seats about 8. This is off season, but when we arrived at 5:30, it was full so we had to wait outside for about 15 minutes. The burgers are huge and delicious and you must try the sweet potatoe fries. this was a two minute walk from the hotel. i wish the weather cooperated with us, but everything is so close, it really wasn't an issue

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We just stayed at the Cooper Inn last week end. It was an overall wonderful experience. The hotel was clean, cozy and quiet. Just the way I like it!

Pros: Great location in the center of town. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Continental breakfast included. Ample free parking. You can use the pool, fitness center, golf course, etc. at the Otesaga Hotel. Discounts for breakfast buffet and free bottle of wine at Hawkeye Grill in the Otesaga Hotel.

Cons: The only con I can think of is that we experienced loss of hot water but found out it was throughout the entire Inn. It was resolved quickly though.

Overall: I would highly recommend the Inn. Nice accomodations for a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Nice place; very clean; not luxurious but GREAT LOCATION. Park your car upon check-in and never drive it again till checkout. Everything is in walking distance including the very beautiful Otesaga Resort --- which is accessible for all guests at the Cooper Inn. This alone makes staying here a good value.
The hotel staff (especially the front desk) was very knowledgeable and friendly. The room was disappointing. Not what you would expect for a room that goes for over $200/night. The bed was uncomfortable but the room was very clean and there is Full HD flat screen TV. We received a small last minute discount which made the uncomfortable bed easier to sleep on. The sitting areas and hallways need refurbishment to be considered an elegant inn. Breakfast was decent; nothing special. Cooperstown is a great town, even if you don't love baseball.

BEST: Access to amenities at Otesaga

WORST: uncomfortable bed

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Address: 15 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive complimentary continental breakfast plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay as well as free access to Clarks Sports Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cooper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.