We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bonus to our trip to Cooperstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenimore Art Museum

Fenimore Art Museum
Lake Rd., Cooperstown, NY 13326
888-547-1450; 607-547-1400
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Cooperstown
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located inside a neo-Georgian mansion with terraced gardens overlooking Otsego Lake, this museum features fine collections of American art, James Fenimore Cooper memorabilia and historic photographs.
North Shore of Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful bonus to our trip to Cooperstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came to Cooperstown to go the Baseball Hall of Fame, and were delighted to discover this museum. Wonderful collection of Native American items as well as folk art by Grandma Moses, J.O.J. Frost and others. Beautiful grounds on Lake Otsego, with Native American exhibits on the grounds as well as inside the museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    54
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyed this museum recently day. It was lunch time when we arrived so we enjoyed lunch outdoors on the beautiful grounds before touring the museum. The museum was lovely with really nice artwork and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am particularly interested in Native American culture so truly enjoyed the exhibit available here that presented such items. The collection was varied and wonderfully displayed. Photos were permitted in this portion of the museum and hence a number of excellent additions were made to my albums.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Artwork and Scenary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The museum with the Wyeth family exhibit was outstanding. We loved the setting of the museum and the beauty of being on the shore of the lake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The museum is a beautiful place to visit. You not only walk in the Fenimore home, but get to see some interesting art work. There was an Indian clothing exhibit when we went. It contained various clothing pieces from all over the country. A very enjoyable time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenimore Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fenimore Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenimore Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.