We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids and adults” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farmers' Museum

Farmers' Museum
Lake Road, PO Box 30, Cooperstown, NY 13326
(888) 547-1450; (607) 547-1500
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Cooperstown
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Farms, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Living history museum re-creates 19th-century rural life, complete with craftspeople demonstrating rural trades and skills in the restored buildings of an 1845 village.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun for kids and adults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I rode a carousel decorated with murals of famous New York folks and places. While this working village/farm type of outdoor museum was interesting, I vote for the carousel as the best attraction here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    65
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A short trip back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

While in Cooperstown it is a must that you visit the Farmers' Museum. Set up like a village from colonial times, it is like taking a time machine back to a simpler time. The crafts, the buildings, the farms, the animals...It is wondrous! Adults, and kids will all find it an exciting experience. My husband and I take every friend, relative, and child to the museum. There is even a fabulous merry go round.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“a unique and diverse experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

With so much to do in Cooperstown and limited time we chose the Farmers Museum for one of our stops. We were glad we did. The quilt exhibit was beautiful and the women friendly and very knowledgeable. They examined and gave me information on a quilt I had brought. The carousel was amazing and the woman there so enthusiastic telling us the history of each piece. It is a must see full of New York history. We enjoyed the pickup truck exhibit and only wish we had more time to walk around the village. We would highly recommend this as a must see when visiting the Cooperstown area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Farmer's history at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stopped here on our way to another location. It was worth it. A quiet walk through 200-yr-old buildings and grounds, with folks in authentic garb explaining their tasks, like the blacksmith, doctor, the lady cooking with an open fireplace. Would be great for children, too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Much. Much More Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

With one extra day on our hands, we visited this great interactive museum. It's definitely not just for kids. The experts on site give an amazing amount of information and history. Each of the buildings is authentic to the area and it's clear that the benefactors and supporters of this museum go to great lengths to make sure that it stays first class. We saw a great pick up truck exhibit as well as the regular attractions and easily enjoyed several hours on this part of our trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers' Museum also viewed

 

Been to Farmers' Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmers' Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.