We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good Menu, Okay Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonwit Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bonwit Inn
1 Vanderbilt Motor Pkwy, Commack, NY 11725-5418
631-499-2068
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 90 Restaurants in Commack
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Menu, Okay Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Been here a couple times, now. The menu seems pretty good, and the food is pretty good. It could be seasoned just a bit more, but it's flavorful as it is. At times when we've been in a hurry, they can seem to speed things up a bit, but it takes some effort. (Not like it was crowded or dinner/lunch hour when we were there). Each time there, the wait staff seemed a little green, but mostly trying. It strikes me as a good place that could be great, but for some reason just misses, which seems a shame.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    2
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the best places for Sunday brunch on Long Island, it's a great buffet with many breakfast and lunch items. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Outstanding service. Reasonable prices (mostly in the $20's). Delicious food, including a simple yet tasty pre-meal salad. Their French Onion Soup was one of the best we've ever tasted! Tender steaks, fresh tasting seafood, and sophisticated desserts for $6 each. I would definitely seek this place out if you are in the area. It is impressive, and not overly crowded! This meal was a highlight of our trip!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of the best restaurant in Long Island the food is delicious the price is very good, very nice atmosphere.

10 year ago we had my nice birthday party and my cousin rehearsal dinner last year the service and the food was supper. I recoment this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“what a treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is one of those places that you go back to for special occassions and regret not going back to for just a weeknight dinner. Food is very good. The brunch is wonderful. The dining room is very pretty. Had my rehearsal dinner here 20+ years ago and people still talk about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonwit Inn also viewed

 

Been to Bonwit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonwit Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.