We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmoshpere and decent sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nisen Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nisen Sushi
5032 Jericho Tpke, Commack, NY 11725
(631) 462-6868
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nisen Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Commack
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Delivery
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Larkfield Road
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmoshpere and decent sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We come here for birthday celebrations with the girls. It has trendy decor and is seemingly less expensive than their Woodbury location. I like raw sushi but the cooked Sea Bass roll is very nice. I also frequent Sushi Village for unlimited made to order sushi in Hicksville if you don't mind the short drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Creative, delicious, and expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have heard nothing but rave reviews about Nisen from sushi loving friends, so we decided to try it and we're not disappointed. The white tuna truffle was extraordinary! Sushi pieces were very fresh and delicious, but the rolls stole the show.taste combinations not seen elsewhere were amazing. We were there very early on a weekday evening so there were few other diners.but the restaurant is lovely and very stylish and the bar looked like a cool place to,have a drink. I can see why people rave about this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk County, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy & fresh but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a couple of the specials - a colorful roll and a sashimi dish, 1 more roll, seaweed salad and an order of soft shell crab w no alcohol and bill was $80. All were very good but the rolls and portions/rolls are smaller than average. So when you wanna splurge and aren't starving, I would recommend this place as the food is actually quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great sushi, club atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have several go to sushi places that we like to get take out from, but if it is date night, or we have out of town guests we always go to Nisen.

The sushi is always tasty and artfully presented and the atmosphere is quite stylish. All the luxuries of a high end club without the pretentious staff.

Cocktails are creative and there is always a special or two worth ordering.

For a real treat get an Omakase, you won't believe your eyes. Even the $100 variant is spectacular.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, A bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The sushi here is tasty, fresh and presented nicely. Lots of variety too. If you are a big eater, be prepared to spend a bit of money, as most items are a la carte and dinners and bento boxes while good, are enough for one average eater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nisen Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nisen Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.