We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD & GREAT PRICE & GREAT SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Bones

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokey Bones
1557 Central Ave, Colonie, NY 12205
(518) 464-9971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Colonie
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & GREAT PRICE & GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went there for significant other birthday dinner on 3/18. Got there early and had no trouble in getting a table for 5.
Waitress was excellent. I had BBQ Chicken with kittle chips. I also had left overs.
For a party of 5. With tip the bill was just over $100.00 A great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corning, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great waitress

Great food

Great STEAK!

Great atmosphere

Accomodating

and wine! Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howes Cave, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Seated right away at prime dinner hour, food was great, and service even better! Ribs were amazing! Great place for dinner out

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of our Barbeque Favs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love Barbeque. This is our 22 year old son's favorite place. Good pulled pork and ribs. Great place for a family or large party to get dirty eating some barbeque. Haven't had as long to wait for a table as Delmonico's next door but I think that is just because barbeque in Albany isn't as popular as Italian food. Prices are reasonable and waitstaff friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Most of the right stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We found Smokey Bones on a quiet night, and were looked after by an excellent server; George. I had a ribs/ brisket combo, and my wife had the chicken. Here's how we rated it all: ribs A+, baked beans A+, chicken A+, brisket C+. Our appetizer and the vegetable were very good. It's the meat and beans which make a BBQ joint. I will try the pulled pork next time.
Smokey Joe's is a chain, but hardly felt institutional at all. The atmosphere was just what we were looking for, and George made us want to come back for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.