We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest find in all my business trps to Albany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Bistro 24

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garden Bistro 24
1839 Central Ave, Colonie, NY 12205-4748
(518) 456-4566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Colonie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Syracuse, New York, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Greatest find in all my business trps to Albany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very fresh and inspired food menu is seasonal and specials change every 2 weeks the soups are amazing. Mussels both classic and adventurous scallops are among the best I have had anywhere. The man knows how to cook. Great servers. I highly recommend if you are anywhere near

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Went here for dinner...was refused seat because I was by myself.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling alone through the area on business and decided to stop in for dinner (after seeing tripadvisor reviews). Upon entering the resturant at 6:30, the place was virtually empty. I was told I could not be seated because "only groups could be seated." I was told I could eat at the bar, but the only spot available was at the end adjacent to a large ceramic pot. I asked the guy are you serious, there isn't an open space, and he just looked at me!

I have never been so offended, the resturant had readily available space and could have accommodated me. I understand people eating alone eat at the bar when busy but your restaurant was virtually empty. I do not care how good your French fries are....treating people badly (even those dressed in suits!) will one day result in your closing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best pommes frites around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped by the other day for dinner and had forgotten how good the service is, how fresh and well-prepared the food is and how charming the atmosphere is. We started by sharing the day's tasty flatbread appetizer. I had the mussels, which were as good as I remembered them to be. My husband was more than satisfied with his flat iron steak dish. The pommes frites served with both continue to be the best around. Sharing a creme brulee dessert was the perfect way to end this savory meal. While on a main avenue, Garden Bistro 24 is somewhat hidden in a little strip mall. We definitely recommend taking the time to find it to enjoy all this gem has to offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Garden Bistro 24”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Service was great and restaurant has nice ambiance. My friend and I both has the Roasted Chickken Crepe with spinach and mushrooms - very tasty and a large portion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just finished an enjoyable dinner at this lovely restaurant. All four entrees were well done. Wait staff perfectly appropriate in all respects. A Friday night at 6:30. Plenty of tables were open for walk-ins, even though we had reservation. A nice first time dinner experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Bistro 24 also viewed

 

Been to Garden Bistro 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Bistro 24, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.