We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Marina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lighthouse Marina Resort to your Saves list
The Lighthouse Marina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Moonbay Marina Complex, Water Front Road | Waterfront Road, CBD, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Makati City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rooms and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights and I had no problems. Food was great, rooms were really good and the staff were always helpful and nice. I have stayed there for couple of times and they always exceed my expectation. Definitely the best hotel in Subic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    81
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
89
57
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Service was great, rooms were clean, and food was okay.

Just a few things I wish they'd do something about. Maybe a thicker material for the bathroom curtains. I'm not comfortable taking a shower, and people in the room seeing my silhouette. Also, they should have a secure/guarded parking area

Overall, it's value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After a hectic week on the road negotiating the highway traffic and ever present tricycles, this hotel was the perfect place to relax and unwind. Our light filled corner suite was so beautifully appointed with breathtaking views of bustling Subic Bay and 2 balconies to enjoy it from. State of the art 3D TV was fun and the beds were comfy. Nice spa and hot hot water for a good relaxing soak.
The Pool was great during the day and come night time there is no better place to be than sipping cocktails poolside from the resort bar. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and you can promenade down the board walk to Pier One for some live music each night...be aware however that the music is of the KTV variety. The 'disconnect' with Subic town centre may not be to everyone's liking but for us it was a much needed respite from the busy towns and highways of North Luzon.

Room Tip: Room 323 is a must...the most expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over a long weekend and had high expectations of the hotel based on the good reviews.Booked thru phone 2 queen beds in an aqua verandah room and paid the 2nd to the highest room category in the 3rd floor overlooking the beach and swimming pool. I was surprised to see NOT 2 queen beds rather 2 DOUBLE beds in 54x75in. I asked why that was the case as the website clearly stated queen beds under 'bed specification'. They apologized for their mistake of falsely stating such and as a form of apology, they gave a discount on the extra person charge (1650 down to 450 pesos) and even sent an apology surprise in my room in the form of a cheesecake. Also, during our stay, the days were quite rainy. We were extremely shocked to hear the rain drops and thunder vibrating inside the room. We called their attention and they said that the contractor of the hotel did something that wasn't right to the ceiling of the hotel (failed to make it soundproof I guess) thus, resulting into such. Light sleepers would not even be able to sleep during a rainy night in that condition. I hope they do something about it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseMktg, Manager at The Lighthouse Marina Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of everyone here at The Lighthouse, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay here with us. Moreover, we are very grateful that you were able to voice out your concerns and pinpoint what we need to work on, as we use your comments and suggestions to fuel our drive for excellence. We would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay here. Our website is presently under a transitional phase where we are currently getting all information in order. Furthermore, due to the storms that have struck Subic, our ceilings have undergone repairs, and indeed, some restorations are still ongoing. Rest assured, we are doing our very best to improve our facilities and services. We hope you would give us another chance to surpass your expectations a second time. We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Lighthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga City, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was very modern and nice. The service was impeccable. There is a playroom for kids with toys and games for free. The swimming pool has a kids area too so u can just relax and watch them swim. There were complimentary cookies with free flowing hot chocolate or coffee. It's a great place to chill especially if u have small kids. Not mentioning its proximity to shopping and other adventure places in Subic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

such a best choice for our first grand vacation,im planning it yearly and 'lighthouse marina bay' gave me an awesome 'first'!.we stayed at the 3rd flr rm.facing the sea and it was fantastic waking up in the morning over looking that peaceful sea.room was neatly done,spacious and well lighted just didnt like to hear noises from other rooms,like door closes,people talking..anyway,those were tolerable...and my favorite part was the bathroom w/ huge bathtub,that i enjoyed so much.we too enjoyed the infinity pool,w/ complimentary picka picka. breakfast is amazing that i was so full to eat my lunch..and my favorite snacks,that until now im craving for it,is their 'fajita'..and the rest of the meals also was so palatable.the staff are all well disciplined and courteous..im going back,for sure!' lighthouse' pampered me!

Room Tip: choose the room facing the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The facilities and the service were very good but I couldn't give a higher rating because the food was far from what I would expect from a hotel at this price range. The food was a big let down. Had too much MSG. The coffee served during breakfast was in a percolator and turned sour and undrinkable. Hope they work on this.

On a brighter note, the room was excellent. The shower was great. The bed and pillows were so nice and comfy that i fell asleep as soon as I lied down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Marina Resort

Address: Moonbay Marina Complex, Water Front Road | Waterfront Road, CBD, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Most Lavish and Magnificent Subic Bay Experience. Like a beacon that steers boats to shore, this magnificent establishment on the Subic waterfront can serve as a venue that beckons travelers seeking world-class comfort.Our Commitment. Lighthouse is committed in creating value and improving guest’s experience. We have this genuine interest in our guest’s evolving needs, thus we invest in our infrastructure and our people as we strive to provide a compelling guest experience. Our company was built on serving and satisfying guests and meeting if not surpassing our guest’s needs is always our No. 1 priority.The Location. The Lighthouse Marina Resort is a three-floor, 34-room boutique hotel capped by a lighthouse. The hotel is sleek and ultra-modern in its Palafox-designed architecture. Done in almost austere Italianate architectonics with its elegantly simplistic hotel façade, the hotel main building provided a perfect compliment to the 20 meter light tower done in surprising detail very faithful to naval architecture specifications. It’s exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ultimate haven of retreat. The Lighthouse was established on 2007 to provide transient residence to executives of business locators of the Subic free port zone; and for tourists who frequent the port more for its sailing and eco‐tourism than its business.Ease of Travel. Proximity and ease of travel are always a concern for many people who are trying to escape the hustle and bustle of life in the metropolis. Just less than a year ago, Subic was a grueling three to four hour drive from the city capital. Today, all roads lead to a tranquil location, a journey of heightened leisure, traversing through a scenic paved ultra majestic highway newly built to serve as the main vain of the Manila-Subic connection. the Subic Clark Tarlac Expressway.For a relaxing, and inexpensive travel, the flicker of light at the Lighthouse Marina Resort just got brighter. A perfect vacation haven away from home just got closer.Its exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ideal chill out place within the shorelines of Subic Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lighthouse Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Marina Hotel Subic
Lighthouse Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.