We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whistling Willie's Grill in Cold Spring, New York” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Willie's American Grill

Whistling Willie's American Grill
184 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-2403
+1 845-265-2012
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 23 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whistling Willie's Grill in Cold Spring, New York”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's a popular restaurant on main street of Cold Spring, New York. Lots of local hang out here. It's kinda loud inside if you have kids so I'd not recommend to have kids inside the restaurant.

Food was decent. Service was average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Pub Grub and Atmosphere to Match”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

7 of us had a 5:00 dinner at Whistling Willie's on a rainy July evening, because we were unable to picnic at nearby Boscobel before a Shakespeare performance.
The restaurant was virtually empty, so we got quick and efficient service, but I can see that going on a weekend or after 7:30 p.m. might be problematical, as the staff is all young and not very professional. But for our purposes, it was fine. The parmesan/garlic popcorn which came in a pail on every table was scarfed down by the younger members of our party before I could even taste it, so that must have been acceptable :). The pasta with butter and the mac and cheese ordered by the kids looked very nice and was eaten enthusiastically. The Cobb salad was large and all the ingredients looked fresh. The people who ordered different types of burgers were all pleased: they were large, came out hot and were prepared just as ordered, along with hot french fries or sweet potato fries, or a side salad. One person had a grilled veggie pannini which he really liked. Because it was before six, there was a $5 special on a hard cider drink which was liked by those who ordered it. The people who ordered beer were also pleased. Prices are in the $12 -$15 range, and the portions are all quite large.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

the Napa Valley Burger and speciality drink were great and service/ambiance wonderful. Great menu, so hard to choose. Music inside was a bonus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Don't know what to say. Ate there with my husband and another couple. I wasn't very hungry so I ordered the crock of onion soup. Two others ordered hamburgers and one person ordered tuna. The onion soup was luke warm and pretty bad. The tuna was not very tasty. The burgers were a hit.

The place seemed to have a strange odor which was probably from the popcorn maker/beer combination. The popcorn was tasty although each batch came with a different level of buffalo (?) type spices, some just right and some too much. The service was pretty slow considering that what we ordered was not complicated and not very attentive.

Anyway, I would go back if I could sit outdoors and have a hamburger.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Love the inventive food here. It's got great selections from elegant dinner to pub fare. Live bands on the weekend make it a great summer find with both indoor and outdoor seating. Just up the block from great antiquing in Cold Spring!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Willie's American Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whistling Willie's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Willie's American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.