We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hil's

Hudson Hil's
129 Main Street, Cold Spring, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I decided to go for breakfast after reading reviews in a area magazine. The restaurant is in a quaint Hudson River town and parking can be a challenge even on a cold snowy day. We were lucky and parked very close.
The restaurant is very bright and sunny and our waitress was very friendly. During the week this time of year it appeared it was mostly a local crowd for breakfast and the waitress seemed to know everyone which was good to see.
My wife had the eggs benedict which she said were some of the best that's she's has had and the portion size was generous. I had the sausage gravy, biscuits and eggs. Each entree came with potatoes. My meal was good but having grown up in the south the sausage gravy was not what I remember but was good and what I've have come to expect.
This is a very friendly and inviting restaurant to enjoy a relaxing meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good choice in Cold Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hudson Hil's is a nice destination for a laid back breakfast or lunch (after a weekend hike, for example). The place was busy, but we didn't feel rushed or hustled at any time and the service was generally quite good. There are some interesting options on the menu and the homemade chips that come with the sandwiches are delicious but quite salty. We went with the Reuben and Grilled Cheese (which, due to the fig paste, was quite sweet) and also got the Kahlua cheese cake. No regrets. The local theme continues with the beers - they have several NY craft beers on tap, which is pretty cool.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh food good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Fresh delicious food and good service. Pricey at $50.00 for lunch for two. My daughter had a burger and I had soup and salad.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is the only place around to find GOOD breakfast food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really love it here. They serve real farm fresh eggs (not nasty factory eggs!) and they offer delicious cocktails for breakfast too. The menu has a great variety to choose from-all of which I've had is delicious. They even offer real maple syrup and gluten free items if you're "one of those". They offer specials and when the weather's nice you can sit outside. I never go to diners anymore because the food is always so disgusting. Now I don't have to. It's refreshing to see a business do well, when you see how hard they work to do it right. Most people today really do settle for mediocrity, because they don't know any different...Bravo to Hudson Hil's

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I used to visit the town of Cold Spring frequently years ago. We returned recently and consulted TripAdvisor for a restaurant for lunch. We were not disappointed based on the recommendations for Hudson Hil's.

Our wait for a table was a bit longer than promised but our waitress quickly brought a bowl of soup for my hungry husband. A great bellini was a nice start to the meal. I had the grilled cheese sandwich, my husband the salmon BLT. Both were excellent and came with homemade chips. The service was quick and pleasant.

We hope to return soon to Hudson's Hil's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Hil's also viewed

 

Been to Hudson Hil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Hil's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.