We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Quaint Rooms, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson House Inn
Save Saved
You added Hudson House Inn to your Saves list
2 Main Street, Cold Spring, NY 10516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Quaint Rooms, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My theory on what makes a great hotel is 99 percent service and 1 percent product. I have stayed in hostels I've loved and luxury resorts I've hated. It's all about how you're treated. Hudson House Inn treated us incredibly well and we left there feeling great about the proprietor, Mina, and her staff and the hotel.

We found Hudson House when were on our way to meet friends for a ski weekend in MA. A snowstorm hit and we had no visibility whatsoever. We pulled off the highway and headed to Cold Spring, hoping for a place to stay. We called several places in Cold Spring and the owners of B&Bs did not want to open mid week for us. We called Hudson House Inn and the proprietor, Mina, answered the phone. She readily accepted us and even offered a generous discount on room rates. We were the only guests in the hotel, and our being there meant that Mina had to return to the hotel in the morning, in a snowstorm, to oversee her surprise guests. At no time did she complain or make us feel that we were putting her out.

And on top of that, we had a great dinner. The restaurant was nearly empty, due to the snowstorm, but the chef stayed to serve us an amazing meal. We ate at the bar near the fireplace, and relaxed while we were served our meal. In the morning, the breakfast (included with the room rate) consisted of several courses of fruit, freshly baked muffins and a yogurt parfait. Mina even wrapped up the remaining muffins for the road.

The rooms are very small, but this is an historic old inn! My best suggestion is to get a suite with a river view. The rooms are fine, they are not sleek and modern but the bedding is new and comfortable. If you are a family, or you want extra space, be sure to spring for the suites.

Cold Spring is an adorable town and we can't wait to return to Hudson house under less stressful circumstances. We can't say enough how we left here feeling grateful that we were so well taken care of and that we were treated so kindly. And great food to boot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
9
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived way early for our reservation (our fault) and waited 15 mins past reservation time...only because staff does the most bizarre seating program of predetermining reservation tables for the whole restaurant ahead of time..so that we were the first 6:30 two top to arrive and the last 6:30 of all to seat.

Besides that we were comped our first drinks which was totally appropriate but unexpected. Side note: we remained calm and enjoyed chatting before dinner and were determined to not mind waiting. So the wine was a great unexpected treat.

When we were met by the most delightful server (sweet brunette with short hair) our night was set and everything forgotten.

Delicious meal, great (awesome) service, plenty of food, and a real Thanksgiving dinner. Above our expectations.

Thank you for a great Thanksgiving experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our hosue was hit by Sandy and we needed a night out to let the tree people rmeove the oak from the roof (ouch!). All hotels in 20 mile radius were booked with others like us running for shelter from damaged homes. I recalled Hudson House Inn where we had spent a nice weekend a few years back and made a direct call. They had room overlooing the Hudson, with a veiw of West Point, We went, It was loverly, Prix Fix dinner for $33 was terrriic,. As was the chocolate cookies by the stairs on the way up to the room. Would do it again though it is 40 miles from our home.

Room Tip: Room 9 waa great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This National Register of Historic Places hotel was built in 1832, which is good news/bad news. It has been fairly well maintained w/in the constraints of the designation. Not surprisingly, the A/C is really poor and very noisy, the rooms are tiny, really tiny, but it has a great location right on the Hudson River at one of the most picturesque viewing sites imaginable.

The rooms are the smallest I have stayed in, except for an ashram in central India. The walkway around the bed is the smallest I have ever seen and there is just NO other space except in the bathroom or the closet. Housekeeping was not good - there was a condom wrapper and a script for a play "The Champ" (not kidding, really...) under the bed. The downstairs outside door was not secure as it could not be closed to latching from the inside. The room "value" was low. There is WiFi only on first floor near the restaurant.

The restaurant is very good; the crabcakes and the CA avocado/turkey sandwich were exceptional. Bkfst was "healthy omelette" which was very good.

Room Tip: Get the largest room you can - it will still be small. Street is not noisy at night. Generally qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The woman who checked me in was very thoughtful and accomodating. However, the remainder of the stay was a disappointment. The building is in desperate need of a major renovation and the room wasn't particularly clean. The window a/c unit was barely adequate to cool the room. The public areas of the inn were very warm. Breakfast didn't begin until 8:30am, which is far too late when you are a traveler. No employees were on site after about 9:00pm which I found somewhat disconcerting. It could be a charming place, but someone needs to spend the money to get it into shape.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The positives are a great responsive staff both for the inn in general and for the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner. From the website we had gotten the impression this inn was on the river with private property to relax on. Instead it is on a street corner across from the Village square. Our room was not clean, the bathroom was almost completely outdated, and some things were simply in bad condition (baseboard pulled away from the wall, stains in the bathtub, carpet stains, fraying towels. The bedding was fine. If it were not for the gracious and as accomodating as possible staff I would be giving this a terrible rating.
Highly recommend the dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cold Spring hotels

Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Breakfast and service were great. Didn't eat dinner at their restaurant, but it always seemed busy during our 2-night stay. The inn is right on the Hudson River with lots of nice public spaces. This does mean noise though especially when it's nice out. One night, a group of people who chatting away under our window, which they are allowed to do, but there was little to keeping their boisterous voices out of the room.

The biggest disappointment was simply the building itself. It's really rundown. The small room: peeling wallpaper, dirty carpet, stained duvet cover (the bed was quite comfy though), cracked too-low sink, the too-high mirror, the dingy linoleum floor in the bathroom, rusted garbage can, chipped paint everywhere, the hugely torn screen on the door to the balcony. More shabby than chic that's for sure. At almost $200 a night, I couldn't help thinking I should have gone with the other inn on Main St.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hudson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Cold Spring, NY 10516
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old inn began doing business in 1832. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hudson House Hotel Cold Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.