We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson House Inn
Save
You added Hudson House Inn to your Saves list
2 Main Street, Cold Spring, NY 10516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The woman who checked me in was very thoughtful and accomodating. However, the remainder of the stay was a disappointment. The building is in desperate need of a major renovation and the room wasn't particularly clean. The window a/c unit was barely adequate to cool the room. The public areas of the inn were very warm. Breakfast didn't begin until 8:30am, which is far too late when you are a traveler. No employees were on site after about 9:00pm which I found somewhat disconcerting. It could be a charming place, but someone needs to spend the money to get it into shape.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
9
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The positives are a great responsive staff both for the inn in general and for the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner. From the website we had gotten the impression this inn was on the river with private property to relax on. Instead it is on a street corner across from the Village square. Our room was not clean, the bathroom was almost completely outdated, and some things were simply in bad condition (baseboard pulled away from the wall, stains in the bathtub, carpet stains, fraying towels. The bedding was fine. If it were not for the gracious and as accomodating as possible staff I would be giving this a terrible rating.
Highly recommend the dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cold Spring hotels

Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Breakfast and service were great. Didn't eat dinner at their restaurant, but it always seemed busy during our 2-night stay. The inn is right on the Hudson River with lots of nice public spaces. This does mean noise though especially when it's nice out. One night, a group of people who chatting away under our window, which they are allowed to do, but there was little to keeping their boisterous voices out of the room.

The biggest disappointment was simply the building itself. It's really rundown. The small room: peeling wallpaper, dirty carpet, stained duvet cover (the bed was quite comfy though), cracked too-low sink, the too-high mirror, the dingy linoleum floor in the bathroom, rusted garbage can, chipped paint everywhere, the hugely torn screen on the door to the balcony. More shabby than chic that's for sure. At almost $200 a night, I couldn't help thinking I should have gone with the other inn on Main St.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This review is for the Sunday brunch experience only.

Sunday brunch is always marvelous, something for everyone off the menu, and can be very good value for $26.

We return regularly with local and out of town friends to experience the view of the Hudson River and West Point.

Drinks are over-priced, the only spoiler. Otherwise All-Star Evaluation.

Easily accessible too from Metro-North train.

Room Tip: Don't miss Sunday Brunch. Many tables with view of Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We traveled to the Hudson Valley, for the first time, for a long relaxing weekend. This Inn is in a great location and one can walk to everything. The staff was wonderful as was the food in the dining room. Sitting by the fire, in the pub, was nice and cozy. What was disappointing was that the dining room had no heat at breakfast or at dinner. Our rooms, we moved several times, were either too hot, too cold and unfortunately dirty. The device to control the heat did not work.
We made the best of our stay and let the staff know how we felt.
We will not travel back to this Inn.

Room Tip: In the winter make sure you are able to control the temperature in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We traveled to Cold Spring, NY on a whim in mid-October and decided to stay overnight. We looked up the area reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to check out the Hudson House Inn. Upon arrival, we were shown the only room available and were able to book it on the spot. While we would have probably booked a room with a larger bed had we planned ahead, overall we found the full size bed room and decor charming. The bathroom was in good condition and our room faced out toward the water. The television in the room, however, was quite small and old-fashioned. Also, there was a wedding reception taking place below our room, and we could hear the music quite clearly. Luckily, the reception came to an end at a reasonable hour that night. All in all, the room was just what we needed for a one night stay. The next morning, we managed to just make it to breakfast, which was delicious and the service was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel has a truly wonderful location, and the view from my window was stgunning.

Apart from that, its best feature is the kitchen. I had all my meals here becuase both the quality of the food and the service were fisrt class.

But going upstairs to my room was like moving to a different establishment. The decore was a little tired, but more importantly my room (number 10) suffered the worst noise pollution I have ever encountered. I could hear every word spoken by my neighbours. The sound seemed to be coming gthrough an interconnecting door. This situation is not acceptable and should be fixed by the proprietors.

My bathroom sink had no plug, which suggests poor maintenance.

Finally, the room was a bit on the small side.

If had been rating the room alone I would have given two stars, but taking account of the kitchen I am going to four stars overall.

Cols Spring itself, both the town and the surrounding scenery, was really lovely. I also enjoyed an excellent concert in the little chapel on the waterfront on Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10 - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Cold Spring, NY 10516
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old inn began doing business in 1832. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hudson House Hotel Cold Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.