We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not the last at Riverview” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Restaurant

Riverview Restaurant
45 Fair St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3005
845-265-4778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“First time, but not the last at Riverview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We both had the oysters to start. They were fresh and really tasty, on a substantial bed of ice. The sauce that came with them (not the usual cocktail sauce) complemented the taste of the oysters without overwhelming them.

The scallops, on a bed of corn and other things, were done to perfection: succulent and cooked exactly right. Some of the best I've ever had. My friend had the ravioli, also quite tasty.

The view out to the river and the mountains on the other side, was delightful on our sunny evening.

One minor problem. We had difficulty getting a waiter's attention. Drinks came promptly, but we had to ask a waiter to take our food order. And then to bring us a dessert menu. And then to bring us the bill (the $1.75 that was supposed to be deducted because we didn't have the house salad with the appetizer was never deducted).

It was our first visit, so when we gave a credit card to the waiter: SURPRISE! Cash only! Luckily we had enough with us to take care of the bill. We were told they had an ATM machine on premises if we needed it.

We'll be back--once we get more cash!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good Food, Just misses having a great view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Riverview in Cold Spring is just off the main drag, and has plenty of parking nearby. It is sort of on the river, but just misses having a great river view. That being said, it is a nicely decorated restaurant although we found the tables to be a little close. It can also get noisy when full, which is inevitable on the weekends, do get a reservation! We had drinks, and ordered, the Caesar salad which is extra is worth the price. I had one of the pasta specials, it came piping hot, freshly made with fresh ingredients, very impressed. My wife had the eggplant, which she thoroughly enjoyed and took home enough for lunch. Our friends also enjoyed the eggplant, and the salmon special she ordered. He had the cucumber gazpacho, and said it was very good also. The food is very well prepared, fresh and served directly from the kitchen to the table. Desserts looked good, but I did not partake. For four, with drinks, dessert and tip, 180 dollars and they do not take credit cards, so make sure you have enough cash.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
562 reviews 562 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Been a while since I wrote a review. Still fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is the best restaurant in the region. And I will add, in a region with Culinary grads coming out of the woodwork. Last week I went with a group to Wednesday night, aka Pizza night. Pizza night is the night you can order an appetizer and a pizza for a fixed price...I think mine was $16.00. I had the frisse salad which was dressed perfectly, and a bacon spinach pizza. Delicious. Everyone in my group had something different and we were all very happy campers. The individual pizzas are really too big for one person so we all had no room for dessert and left with our boxes. Service was excellent. View was excellent.
We made reservations. Almost always needed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The outside entrance was very un inviting! If it wasn't for the bland green awning, I wasn't sure which door was the entrance. Once inside, the decor was ok. Able to be seated by a window and saw the fabulous view of about 10ft of the Hudson River. The wine list was poor and the food was just a bit better. I had pan seared scallops and the didn't! Have any flavor and they were mushy.
The main surprise was as I was reading the menu, I saw in small print the restaurant doesn't accept credit cards....just checks and cash! Weird! The restaurant had a weird ATM where you swipe your card, get a receipt
T and the bartender gives you the Monet from THEIR register! AND charges a $2.00 fee! Again, weird. The staff was very pleasant and that was the best feature of this restaurant. Patrons really need to dine outside of Cold Springs if they think this is an excellent place. NOT!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf Side, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“If you don't get a window seat it's a bit pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First off go early or late so you can sit by windows and view the boats along the Hudson. If it's crowded you get put in the dinning room with white table cloths and white paper on top. But we didn't get white paper only old menus and asked to choose 3 crayons for each toddler- no high chairs but booster seats no cups with lids and straws either and sigh--- no toddler menu-
The white gazpacho was good and the pork loin with bacon was good but the Indian seasonings on noodles and grilled veggies was too weird tasting to share with toddler also the ham butcher asked to be cooked medium was the size of a biscuit and too rare. This pace seems expensive for the amount of food and the waiter seemed a bit "coolish" to the idea of toddlers-this place has its nice points but traveling with toddlers didn't let any of the nice points come through.

There's an outdoor pace down by the trains that would be a better bet for toddlers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.