We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great but no credit cards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Restaurant

Riverview Restaurant
45 Fair St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3005
845-265-4778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Cold Spring
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food is great but no credit cards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We knew going in they did not take credit cards. Instead of a bottle of wine we settled for a couple of glasses. We avoided the entries and stayed with appetizers and shared a pizza. We also avoided dessert knowing how much cash we had. But I do have to say the food was great, despite the fact we did not feel like we could splurge. Service was outstanding. And the view was delightful. Overall it is a great place, we would have tried more things on the menu, just felt restrained by having to consider the available cash. The other small thing of concern, I could not find them on Open Table. When we are traveling in a new area we check Open Table for better restaurants in the area, as best I could they were not on there and should be as they are quality.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everything works great here: the menu offerings vary and it's all good wether it's Wednesday pizza night price fix special or the full menu with daily specials. The fish is fresh and expertly prepared, the service excellent and the view marvelous. I've been dinning there for 25 years and looking forward to the next 25.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Consistently the best meal in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Consistently the best restaurant in the area!

Great food, great service! And the views are wonderful.

My guests had the:
- fish and shellfish stew - excellent!
- Sea Scallops - Excellent
- Grilled Rib eye - one of my fav!
And we brought a couple of Diablo Pizzas home. Love that sausage

If you have not been here before, beware, they do not take credit cards... Cash is good, and they seem ok with checks..... but no plastic.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, atmosphere, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I have frequented Riverview Dining in Cold Spring many times. What impresses us the most is its consistency. The food is very tasty and finely prepared, the environment is relaxed with beautiful views of the Hudson River and surrounding mountains, and the service is both attentive and welcoming.

We highly recommend this either for a special occasion or, as we have come to do, as a regular place to enjoy a fine meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

3 ladies out for lunch seeking great food in a fun environment. We were not let down by the many recommendations to Riverview. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable in our selections. I had the Cuban Black Bean Soup and the tuna tartare. Both were outstanding. I will say their bread was also quite delicious. I look forward to returning again for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.