We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent middle-eastern food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Baraki - CLOSED

Al-Baraki
133 Remsen Street, Cohoes, NY
518-238-1238
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent middle-eastern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We love this restaurant and come at least once per month, the goat cheese pie is to die for, and the owner is a doll. If you have not been here, do yourself a favor and go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my family and with friends. We always enjoyed our visit. Excellent food and service, nice, friendly and pleasant atmosphere. Now restaurant is open four days a week Tuesday-Saturday for lunch and dinner and does catering on Sundays. There are several municipal parking lots around and street parking is usually available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Food Basic Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our food was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the Tabouleh - plenty of tomato and parsley with very little bulghur. The falafels were excellent also - my favorite was the garlic sauce. The atmosphere was lacking and it was cooler that I would have wanted. The waitress was very friendly. This is a place I'd really like to see succeed. They do close early, so it's best to book and confirm their close time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Did not share the same experience as others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enticed by a Groupon, we arrived at 6pm on a Friday only to find we were the only ones there. I was very cheaply decorated (which is not in line with the prices). It was so cold inside that even the hostess admitted to standing in the kitchen for warmth. While she was very nice however service was slow (maybe because she was always in the back) and mistakes were made in our orders. I wish I was more of an expert in Lebanese food so I could comment more on that, but regardless, the service, food presentation, decor and room temperature were not up to par for a $20 a plate restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This is the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This little, unassuming restaurant sits in the middle of the main street in Cohoes. What a find! The decor is basic, but so what? Are you there to eat or to stare at the tablecloths? It's very clean, the owner/ chef is friendly and helpful, and the food---fresh, authentic, cooked to order. This is THE BEST in the area. Well worth the trip!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Baraki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Baraki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.