We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel --- Bad food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Burgin Dr, Cobleskill, NY 12043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobleskill
Long Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel --- Bad food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

B W Delaney's restaurant was poor to say the least. We had to wait almost 40 minutes for our orders to arrive. We ordered nothing difficult, a sandwich, chicken fingers, & a cheese burger medium rare. The sandwich was fine but the chicken fingers were not hot, the fries were soggy and the cheese burger was well done and dry to the point that it crumbled when I attempted to eat it. I couldn't eat so I left it on the plate. The server felt bad about the meal & I told her it wasn't her fault. Still she took $5 off the bill to help the situation which was nice but the fact that I ate a snickers bar from the vending machine for my dinner was not. I would recommend that people stay at your hotel but they should run away from your restaurant no matter how many coupons you give out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review based on your stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for letting me know about the experience you had with our restaurant. We recently hired a new food and beverage manager and he is in the process of implementing changes to improve both process and product for our restaurant. I was delighted to hear that minus your experience at the restaurant that you enjoyed your hotel stay. Please contact the hotel directly if we can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    52
    21
    13
See reviews for
150
36
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel in Poor condition, old and outdated. Carpets stained, NO elevator!! NO free breakfast and the "restaurant' has food I would not go back for. Reminds me of cheap diner in the middle of the desert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review of our hotel based on your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to make all of our guests stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Although we do not have an elevator our staff is always ready and willing to help assist our guests in moving luggage and other belongings upstairs when requested. We also recommend for our guests who cannot do the stairs to request a first floor room when booking. Although our building may not be as youthful as other hotels we take great pride in the cleanliness and service we provide. Thank you again for writing a review of our hotel. If we can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this facility has been refurbished and tastefully decorated. everyone was very friendly. our room was very clean, ac was new. nice tv. plus a beautiful view from our room. we could walk to the restaurant which was attached to hotel. we will definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made quite a few changes over the past few months including unveiling a new menu in our restaurant. We do have some great views here and we hope you will come back in the fall and see us again when the foliage is at its peak. Please let us know if we can be of any help in the future by contacting the hotel directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The facility is in good condition, and overall a good place to stay. Breakfast is not included, but we had $2 off coupons for breakfast at the restaurant. It was not real busy, but we waited about 10 minutes for a waitress. We ordered eggs benedict and waited quite a long time for them, maybe 10 minutes. But then the waitress came and said they were out of eggs benedict. So we ordered bacon and eggs, and waited maybe another 10-15 minutes for that. When it came, the eggs were cold, and the bacon was tough. A poor experience that detracted from an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review based on your stay at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to write an honest response based on your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience in our restaurant. I would like to inform you that we recently added a new food and beverage manager to our team and he is in the process of getting acquainted with our restaurant facilities and will be making improvements to our process and product. If we can be of any further assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I found the front desk people to be friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, especially the bathroom. No gunky caulking around the tile or questionable stains on the shower curtain. Yes, they could stand to lose the tired colonial dresser but my air conditioner looked brand new and was very easy to operate so I was a happy camper. The room had a small fridge (no mini-bar) and microwave as well as a Keurig coffee machine and large-ish flat screen TV...all the conveniences of home. I'm glad I was only staying a couple of days because there was no closet to speak of: a small, open alcove with a rack and a few hangers. The room was on the second floor and there was no elevator so again I was glad to be traveling light. The pool was small and a little dark as another reviewer noted but I did see people using it each day. They had a well equipped exercise room also. I did not see the bowling alley or restaurant that are also attached. My room faced the front of the hotel and overlooked lovely farmlands and rolling hills. Overall, a nice place to stay for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have better views and since no elevator there is no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review about your stay at our BEST WESTERN. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel was able to serve you so well. We have recently updated the air-conditioning/heating units in our second floor rooms it was great to hear that someone noticed this change. We do have many great views here at the hotel and I was glad you could take those in during your stay with us. Again I would like to thank you for writing a review of our hotel and if we can be of any assistance in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great Service and value for the price of the room, vey clean and nice lobby, wonderful pool, Location was near every place we needed to go. We would stay again here in our next trip to this area. Highly recommended for family trips. Restaurant had a very good breakfast. One of the best "Best Western Hotels" we have visited in our trips,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I would like to thank you for writing such a gracious review of our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I was glad that our team was able to serve you so well. We take great pride in the cleanliness and service that our hotel offers. We strive for all of our guests to have a positive and relaxing stay as you did. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Please contact us if we can be of service the next time you are in the Cobleskill area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We selected this Best Western because of its nearness to places we were visiting in the Schoharie Valley of New York State and the generally good experiences we remember having at other Best Westerns throughout the country. In short, we were very pleased by what we found. While it is an older property, it has been very well maintained. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and everything worked just fine. The restaurant that is within the hotel, named Delaney's, turned out to be really a pleasant surprise. Small hotels in country settings, like this hotel, rarely have food quality and service that is at this level. We noticed quite a number of local residents were eating there, as well---an almost sure sign that something positive is happening here. The front desk people were uniformly helpful, friendly, and really were familiar with their area (something not always typical at any hotel). We're certainly going to stay at this Best Western Plus in Cobleskill the next time we're travelling in the Schoharie Valley and the Catskills areas. The observations and opinions of a senior couple from Amherst, MA.

Room Tip: The foothills of the Catskill Mountains are just to the north of this hotel. We would suggest, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Greetings, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Cobleskill. We take our guests comfort and satisfaction very seriously and it is great to hear that our continued efforts in cleanliness and service are being noticed by the valued guests who stay with us. Again I would like to thank you for writing a review based on your stay at our hotel. Please feel free to contact us the next time you are in the Cobleskill area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill

Address: 121 Burgin Dr, Cobleskill, NY 12043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cobleskill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobleskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque upstate New York, nestled between the Catskill and Adirondack Mountains, BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill is a charming, family-friendly home away from home.Situated in the quaint, historic town of Cobleskill, this unique accommodation offers small-town charm coupled with big-city amenities. In addition to 76 well-appointed guest rooms equipped with cable satellite television and high-speed wireless Internet access, this property features an onsite restaurant and lounge, a 16-lane bowling center, a playground, a heated indoor swimming pool and an exercise facility. And if you're looking for a pet-friendly hotel in Cobleskill, you've found one!With so many things to do onsite, it may be tempting to spend all of your time on the property. But this Cobleskill hotel is just minutes away from some of the area's top attractions, like the prehistoric Howe Caverns, the Cobleskill Fairgrounds and the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown. Plus, the area offers unparalleled outdoor recreation opportunities - including golf, fishing, horseback riding, fall foliage tours and even an onsite snowmobile trail - all year long.Corporate travelers appreciate our close proximity to some the area's top businesses, including Bassett Healthcare Network, the State University of New York at Cobleskill, the Blenheim-Gilboa Power Plant and the New York Power Authority. Many guests are also drawn to the property as one of the premiere event spaces in Cobleskill, with an experienced catering staff and facilities to accommodate up to 200 guests.The friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cobleskill, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Cobleskill Hotel Cobleskill
Best Western Cobleskill
Best Western Hotel Cobleskill
Cobleskill Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn of Cobleskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.