We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff... If you just feel like being treated horribly, then this is the place for you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TAI Pan Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
TAI Pan Chinese Restaurant
1519 Rte 9, Clifton Park, NY 12065-5625
(518) 383-8581
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 121 Restaurants in Clifton Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff... If you just feel like being treated horribly, then this is the place for you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Met with friends for a night out. Both couples had a restaurant.com coupon. We called ahead to see if we could sit together since we both had coupons. They said, "no problem". We get there and they were so rude about it we decided to leave. They insisted we sit on opposite sides of the restaurant. They don't speak english so it's difficult to understand, and they didn't seem to care one way or the other if we ate there. the kicker is the place was TOTALLY EMPTY on a friday night! Unbelievable. I did see some food on a table near the front... It looked and smelled like anything you can get at any fast food chinese takeout.... In other words, if you ar hungry for chinese, just get some take out and go home... If you are looking for a nice sit down dinner with friends, go to Olive Garden... Thats what we did... By my estimate, Tai Pan screwed themselves out of at least 100 bucks... Nice going, lady in charge. Oh, I will also be letting all my friends and every one I work with know of our experience. Just to make sure no one makes the same mistake.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very nice quiet set of rooms with mixed result food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Mixed Asian styles. The Chinese seafood noodle soup was bland, lacking on flavor and overall uninteresting. The Thai chicken and vegetable curry was delicious.

Inconsistent, but nice people and room.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
“Nice Chinese for eating out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sometimes it's nice to eat Chinese out instead of always doing take out. Tai Pan offers you that opportunity and the food is fairly priced. Nice presentation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We go to Tai Pan about once a month even though there are many chinese restaurants much closer to our home. The food is always delicious and it is truly my 11 year old's favorite restaurant. The staff is great and they are happy to accomodate any special requests you might have. Very family friendly!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Asian in Halfmoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We found this restaurant on a miserable rainy evening and were very satisfied with the service and the food. In fact it was nearly closing time but were welcomed by a charming waitress and (I believe) one of the owners.
The place is large, airy, and decorated with warm wood. There was also an enormous robe displayed in a frame just near our table that I found facinating.
My husband almost always orders a soup, preferably a big one full of seafood and dumplings...noodles are optional. And we always share a bowl wherever we go. This one did not disappoint however I do not think it was on the menu. We live in Toronto where fresh prawn dumpling noodle soup is a common offering in any one of our amazing Chinatowns and so we did explain it to our waitress and who immediately understood what we were after. Delicious ! Following that we choose from one of the Chef Specialties and it was equally good. With a single serving of steamed rice it was the ideal way to spend a dismal rainy evening and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with the staff.
Granted it was a quiet night but service was pretty efficient. There was a certain amount of prep for the next day going on but we did not feel neglected. And we will be back next August when the Saratoga track is open. Hopefully we will have a sunny day to spend at this historic track.
Incidentally we noticed a Dim Sum Brunch menu worthy of any asian restaurant and a number of awards framed at the entrance.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAI Pan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TAI Pan Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TAI Pan Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.