We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, very fussy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston House Restaurant

Johnston House Restaurant
Riverside Dr, Clayton, NY
13156863663
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Clayton, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good, very fussy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We went in for a late breakfast, early lunch at 11am when they opened, on a Thursday. It was promising to rain so we had to sit inside. Very pretty rooms, very modern and nice. We had four little girls with us so we were a bit nervous about sitting inside but it all worked out. Some had lunch, some had breakfast. It was good, nice presentation on all items. Our waitress was very good, very attentive. $16 per person was the average check for an entrée, juice or coffee. Nice for a special occasion.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to have drinks by a fire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We did not have time to eat, so we decided to have drinks.
Service there was awesome. Very friendly and very fast! We ordered drinks at the bar and then walked to the left of restaurant and to the back. There you will find a beautiful seating area with comfortable couches surrounding a modern fireplace. It was an elegant way to end the night with friends. Waitresses are continuously walking by to see if more drinks are needed. Talk about great service!!!! I am excited to see what their food is like. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“vacation week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food was fantastic.
We had both ordered the philly steak sandwiches with fries. The cook is from Philadelphia and they were very good.
The service was excellent too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate and rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 3:30 to find out the kitchen was closed but would re-open at 5. We returned at 4:30 to be told that there was no room for us!! Seriously, the greeter couldn't tell us that at 3:30? Or possibly advise is that we might need a resevation? No!! Instead she led us to believe there was room, wasted an hour walking around in the RAIN...to be turned away a second time. We will not waste our time again, no matter how 'great' other reviews maybe. Thanks for wasting our time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJRIII, Owner at Johnston House Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I do apologize for the inconvenience that was caused, the hostess did tell you to come back because we have a few tables that we do not take reservations for and she thought that one of them would be open for you. I am sorry your experience wasn't pleasurable, we would love to have you come back and give us another shot, if you decide to do that please make a reservation at 686.3663 so there is not this issue in the future.
Thank you,
George Ruddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not what we anticipated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Based on the reviews of others we decided to have lunch. I ordered the beef sliders ($16). The piece of meat wasn't large enough to cover the already stale roll. One slider was over cooked and the second was half well, half rare (blood soaked roll rare)...horseradish mayo was almost non existent. My dining partner had a philly cheese steak ($12) which turned out to be chopped beef on a stale roll with over cooked mushrooms & onions sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. It wasn't what we had expected, consistency appears to be an oversight by the back of the house. Unfortunatly, we won't be dining with the Johnson House again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Johnston House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.