We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Boat Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooden Boat Inn
Save
You added Wooden Boat Inn to your Saves list
606 Alexandria Street, Clayton, NY 13624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway on our Boat!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to the 1000 Islands for our 2nd wedding anniversary and everything was booked in Abay, as we waited until summer to start making arrangements. We lucked out and the Wooden Boat Inn had Room 6 available. I agree with all the reviewers, we were impressed by the hosts, quaintness, cleaniness and the community areas. The room wasn't gigantic, but fine for us; it had a king bed, table with flat screen tv, table and 2 chairs, nice size vanity with 2 electrical sockets and another area for toilet and shower. We sat on the patio with our morning coffee and got some travel tips from our hostess. We really enjoyed the town of Clayton, there were high quality shops and restaurants and it definitely wasn't as rowdy as Abay. Bella's was great for breakfast and lunch and the Koffee Kove had great, hearty and reasonable breakfasts. We plan to stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I agree with the other reviews, this is not your average small town motel. It is obvious the owners care! We needed two rooms as we were traveling with elderly parents visiting the region. We all enjoyed the CLEAN rooms, the common area with a fridge, micro, single-serve coffee, indoor screened porch dining area with tasteful furniture and very comfortable outdoor relaxing area with fireplace. The rooms are on the small scale, but perfectly adequate, recently remodeled and nicely appointed. The property is walking distance to town. Great small motel!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is our 5th year at the Wooden Boat Inn. Tom and Carol are great hosts. The rooms are quaint and clean. Centrally located to all the major attractions in the Thousand Islands. Always love seeing the tall ships and Antique Boat Museum. The Wine and Food Festival was a great success. Breakfast or a snack at "The Castle" is a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Normally, my reviews of small 'mom and pop' motels are not very good. However, this Inn was just perfect! It was VERY clean and you can tell that a lot of upgrades have been made. Pergo flooring, very tasteful bedding and linens. We stayed in room 4, which was a little bigger than a couple of the others. The shutter style slats on the door, make it feel almost as if you're staying at a cozy camp. There is a fire pit near the office, we didn't take advantage of it. I would recommend this place to any and everyone and would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We are very impressed with the quality of the furnishings and bedding. The rooms are small but just big enough. There is even a common area that has a full sized fridge, microwave and coffee 24/7! The sitting room and patio make socializing pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Recent remodel was done with care. Patio area is a nice plus

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent two nights at the Wooden Boat Inn. There are only 6 rooms and they are quite small in size, but I don't think I've ever been in a cleaner motel room! It was more than comfortable and the location is wonderful if you want to walk around Clayton. They offer coffee, but no breakfast. No matter, there are a couple really nice breakfast places just a few minutes away. If we ever go back to the 1000 Islands, we may stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooden Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Boat Inn

Address: 606 Alexandria Street, Clayton, NY 13624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wooden Boat Inn is located in Historic Clayton Village on the corner of Union and Alexandria St. Just one block from the world famous Antique Boat Museum. There are many unique shops to visit and restaurants to choose from. Enjoy a scenic boat tour around the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence River and be sure to visit the impressive Boldt and Singer Castles. Fishing and scuba diving guides and boat rentals are just a short drive from the village. There's also a public boat launch and overnight dockage nearby. Whatever it is that brings you here we want you to feel at home with us at the Inn. Make sure you ask Berny and Valeriee about their custom Captain Visgar Island Tour of 1892. ASK ABOUT THE ADMIRALTY SUITE. THIS IS A TWO PRIVATE STATEROOM, ENSUITE BATHROOMS, FULL KITCHEN, AND AN ARE THAT OVERLOOKS THE FINEST MARINA IN THE ISLANDS. ACTUALLY IT IS A 36 FOOT YACHT. A CLASSIC ALBIN TRAWLER. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.