We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A veritable treasure of a museum.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Boat Museum

Antique Boat Museum
750 Mary St., Clayton, NY
315 686-4104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses an impressive collection of wooden sea vessels.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A veritable treasure of a museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The most hardened landlubber cannot but be awestruck with the boats and history being preserverd at the Antique Boat Museum. I inevitably do a fare share of my holiday gift shopping the museum gift shop. My sweetheart and I loooove the Antique Boat Museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Great Learning Experince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a one of a kind place to visit. I have been there many times and there is always something new - or something that I had not seen. Great history and really nice things to see. And it's not all about the boats. Great local items to see. Do not miss this place if you are in Clayton......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A Trip Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

In the late 50's our family spent the summer holidays on our Cruiser going down the the Rideau Canal from Ottawa to Kingston, Gananoque, the Thousand Islands, and Alexandria Bay. We never stopped at Clayton, NY. This summer on our way back from Montreal with a 48 hour + shopping detour through New York State, we went to Sacket's Harbor and Clayton, the latter specifically to visit the Antique Boat Museum.

Of particular interest were the St. Lawrence Skiffs that I remember fishing guides using on the Rideau Lakes from Chaffey's Locks and the canoe exhibit including displays from the Rice Lake Canoe Company at Gore's Landing and the Peterborough Canoe Company both near wehere we live now. Aluminum, fiberglass and modern composites can not compare to varnished mahogany, oiled teak and copper riveted cedar strip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's an antique boat museum yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I recently became so excited about sailing and therefore boating of all kinds. This has the history and know how. Very impressed with the history of local legend boltd boat house very well restored. The collection is impressive. I love the evolution of engines on display. Watching the restoration is exciting. The speed boats from eirly years were amazing. I loved the steamer that looked much like the African queen. Parked right on the street in front of the building. Walked right in. It's downtown by the pier. Small town charm. Big adventure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This modern museum is a must see in the Thousand Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

You will see a building full of acing boats of the past. Then head across the street and see History of fine boats from canoes, skiffs, to the elegant pleasure craft and even a grand Houseboat. You can ride a genuine mahogany speedboat. While there visit the store for neat items at low prices• the wife and I took a membership just to support this grand effort.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Antique Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Boat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.