We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not somewhere I'd stay again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Boar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Boar Inn to your Saves list
The Blue Boar Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Temple Grafton, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not somewhere I'd stay again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Off to a promising start, good location, nice bar with good ales. I'm afraid downhill from there. They've obviously not listened to previous reviews regarding using a hoover in either the hallways or the rooms themselves, as I would imagine one has not been pushed around in a while. The meal on the first evening was adequate (just).
Breakfast was a major letdown the following morning. Firstly there were a couple of bowls of cereal and some bread and packets of jam laid out that was it, nothing else. We had to ask for orange juice and coffee. We were poured a glass of orange juice, the waitress then took the jug back to the kitchen! We'd requested a vegertarian breakfast, when this was delivered after 45 minutes (very cold), it consisted of some mushrooms, egg, some beans and a hash brown looking some what like a hockey puck. We would have had some toast, difficult as the toaster didn't work that well, as in 15 minutes to lightly brown a piece of bread.
Having been out for the day and then returning for the rugby we foolishly chanced our luck in the resturant again. Poor service, poor food to say the least. At this point I pulled the manager to one side and was very polite in listing my complaints to him. Fair play to him he listened and promised to rectify them.
Low and behold an improvement at breakfast the following morning (and a very serious attempt to suck up to us), although it would have been nice if the other guests had been offered the fresh fruit and yoghurts as well.
We checked out early and were pleased to see that we had not been charged for the meal the night before. It realy is a shame as this place has the potential to be somewhere special, they just need to pay more attention to detail. We have stayed in hotels worldwide and nowhere is perfect we're not fussy and are happy to overlook minor things as long as the quality in general is good. I'm afraid not with this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    62
    41
    16
    15
See reviews for
30
96
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Having visited The Blue Boar Inn with my husband a few years ago and enjoyed an outstanding meal (game sausage for hubby and salmon for me), I went with my adult children and a visiting niece (from U.S.) for what we'd expected to be a fabulous meal. As it was a Sunday afternoon we could only choose from the Sunday roast menu, which was adequate and the prices weren't too bad, especially if having 2 courses. However, the food was atrocious and the staff attitude to serving customers left a lot to be desired; no enquiring if everything was ok, would we like drink refils etc. My sons ordered roast beef (one rare, one medium - both arrived well done and like boot leather). My eldest son requested a change of meal, which was forthcoming, thankfully. The vegetables were hard (not crunchy just difficult to cut into and chew). I had the mushroom pasta, which was ok and edible; unremarkable, just pasta. The creme brulee ordered was basically a scrambled egg! No sugar had been included in the construction and the ramekin was only half full. For the price the roast beef portions need to be a little more generous and the customers preferences adhered to. I'm sorry to say we didn't leave a tip and wouldn't feel comfortable recommending the restaurant to other people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Temple Grafton hotels

Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

The exterior is cute and quaint. The restaurant inside is very beautiful and the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Our room was practical and clean. It is not state of the art or modern by any means but it was generously sized, spotlessly clean, fit very well with the setting and had everything we needed. Bed was comfortable, shower was hot, and staff was friendly. The location to Stratford upon Avon, Warwick Castle, and Kenilworth castle was wonderful. There is beautiful countryside all around the hotel. We would love to return someday.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerChandler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Arrived to find a lovely looking inn set in an idyllic situation. Food very good and well priced served in a cosy restaurant. service good and friendly.
Bedroom OK, smallish but adequate, a bit old fashioned furniture.
Unfortunately, I then began to notice that the housekeeping element of this establishment was somewhat lacking. The carpet along the corridor to the rooms badly needed a hoover, all very dusty. In the room, the window sill was covered with black dust from the roadworks outside, the lamps hades and slide out glass tray on the bedside table have not been cleaned for months,. In the bathroom, the shelf was loose and tilted, as was the shaver socket. There was evidence of thick dust on all the ledges and pipework and goodness knows what the brown stain was around and beneath the toilet brush holder.
The final nail in the coffin was that I am not convinced that the bedlinen had been changed between clients, as I found on the underside of the duvet cover some dried blood.
All this is really sad, as this pub could be a real star if it tried.
I could not recommend this pub because of the cleanliness issue.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Dont listen to the bad reviews because the Blue Boar Inn was Magnificent and youd be mad not to at least stop in for a pint if you are near stratford upon avon!

The Blue Boar Inn was an amazing place to stay! My family and i had been travelling around the country and we were doing last minute bookings as we moved from town to town. We had been to Stratford upon avon that day and did not want to stay in the town so much so we booked at The Blue Boar Inn. Thus far into the trip the rooms had been 70-100 pound (which was quiet expensive as we were paying for two rooms because it was me and my sister 20 and 17 and we didnt want to be in the same room as our parents).
The Blue Boar Inn was so beautiful from the exterior. Old pub with a lovely beer garden. There is a well in the Inn that used to be used to brew beer, but is now a large fish tank, that you can look into under the ground. The rooms where HUGE, my sister and i had a twin share room with a double bed and single bed and it was amazing how much room there was, more than anyother that wed been to.

For the first time in England we actually ate good food. So hard to find in England lol. Dad had a pint with some of the friendly locals and enjoyed himself.

We stayed at the Sofitel on the last night of our trip which was a very pricey modern and lovely, but the Blue Boar Inn still fits into the same catagory.

A unique, peaceful and interesting stay. The most enjoyable and remembered stay of the whole month we travelled in Europe!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We had a quite large room which, although a little dated, was clean and had a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, our room was overly warm because of a faulty radiator and opening the window meant that we were woken at 7am by activity in the carpark. On the second night this was fixed. Another problem was that the tv was wall mounted about 5 feet from the floor and I am almost 6 feet tall so I bumped my head a couple of times.

Breakfast was delicious and sustained us for many hours. In the evening we chose a simple meal but it was nicely presented and very enjoyable. Although we did not buy from it, the wine list was extensive and quite reasonably priced.

Most of all we were impressed by the staff who were very pleasant, helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

After booking we saw some bad reviews on this site so were a bit uneasy. However our worries were unfounded. Our spacious room was clean and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was one of the best we have had and was cooked freshly to order. We may well return again.

  • Liked — excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — noise from below ( room 10)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Inn

Address: Temple Grafton, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Temple Grafton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Boar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Shakespeare country only four miles from Stratford upon Avon the Blue Boar Inn represents the best of an old English country pub, the oldest parts of the building date back to the early 1600s. Stay in comfortable en suite bedrooms, some which still retain impressive original features, such as wooden beams and stone walls. Including a range of three, four and five bed family rooms. Food is available from lunchtimes 12.00 noon- 2,30pm and dinner 6.00pm- 9.00pm options include an à la carte restaurant menu and a homemade pub food menus complimented by a range of ales and wines.According to church records, William Shakespeare was married in Temple Grafton church in the year 1582 to one Ann Whateley. The name is thought to be a misspelling of Hathaway.Records show that there has been an alehouse at the inn since that time, also a glass-covered well in the restaurant bar is some 35 feet deep and its pure water was once used in the brewing process. today, the well is the home of a family of gold fish. From this comfortable and convenient relaxing base, you can explore Stratford Warwick, the Vale of Evesham, Cotswolds Slightly further afield, The Malvern Hills, and Birmingham and NEC is within about 30 minutes' drive by car.Here at the Blue Boar we are here to cater for your every need and can arrange hire cars, taxis and packed lunches to compliment your touring of our wonderful local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Boar Hotel Alcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Boar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.