We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singer Castle on Dark Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippewa Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Singer Castle on Dark Island
Save
You added Singer Castle on Dark Island to your Saves list
Box 59, Dark Island, Chippewa Bay, NY 13623   |  
Hotel amenities
Greenbelt, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My fiancee and I toured Singer Castle with Judy and knew right away that we had a fantastic place for our destination wedding and reception. Her sincere interest in the history of the castle was a real plus, and I am looking forward to our guests getting a tour as part of the wedding day festivities in July 2011. We plan to have our ceremony in the flower garden, but if it rains, we have the option of going into the breakfast room, with panoramic views out three sides of it. That is where we will have our reception for 40 guests.
It is possible to stay overnight in the master suite and second bedroom, but it was very pricey and we opted to shelve that idea for a future anniversary milestone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We spent one night at the castle with friends. Scott and Tom were extremely gracious and Scott was a great host! Our friends and their family stayed in the suite while we stayed in the other marvelous room. We totally enjoyed the fact that we had the run of the castle the entire night and encouraged to roam about and explore by ourselves. The dinner salads were huge and delicious! The morning continental breakfast was just enough. Although we wish the weather was a little nicer, we still had an experience of a lifetime, and hope that maybe we can do it again sometime!! Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

There are daily tours, during season, at Singer Castle; but you can also arrange to stay in the Royal Suite. You become the Lord and Lady of the Castle (up to 6 can stay), with your own private extended tour, including all the secret passages and most of the outlying buildings and the grounds. The stay includes dinner and a continental breakfast. You have the run of the castle and Scott gave an incredible tour. Singer Castle has wonderful views of the river and because the Castle was actually used and lived in by the Bourne family (sorry not Jason) and still includes much of the furnishings, it has wonderful ambiance. Brought my wife there for an anniversary surprise and she loved it. It was the highlight of our 9 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Singer Castle is dramatic, inviting and a great addition to touring the 1000 Islands area of the St. Lawrence Seaway. We unintentionally docked at Singer Castle when our houseboat steering problem had to get fixed. While we waited for the mechanic to arrive we were approached by Tom Weldon asking us if we wanted to tour the castle. His invitation was accepted and I'm certainly glad we did!
Unlike Boldt Castle the Singer Castle was a hunting lodge residence of the Singer family (of sewing machine fame) and built in the early 1900's. Singer Castle had a grass tennis court, medieval entry hall, stunning breakfast room, library, beautiful bedrooms, spa and fitness room and secret passageways for the 30 servants. All the furnishings are from the owners. There are lots of stairs so make sure you wear comfortable shoes and can walk the multiple staircases. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Singer Castle may be a bit farther from the hubbub surrounding Boldt Castle and Alexandria Bay, but I was more impressed by this residence. You can stay at Singer Castle and even hold your wedding here, so check it out!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

This is a place where my husbands family rents 3 houses on the Dark Island for a week, we have a Veranda, boat house, 2 huge Grand houses, kayaking, boating, fishing, water sports...they have been going for I don't know exactly how many years, but last year was my first year and I can't wait to GO BACK!!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We took a little boat trip for Alexandria Bay, NY to Singer Castle. We really enjoyed it. The tour guide was great. he was an older fella and very passionate about the place. It was so neat to hear all the stories. Beautiful place. My only complaint is that you must be on a guided tour and stick with it, you can't wonder about the Castle and the grounds on your own as you please. This would have been nice to hang back and get some nice photo's etc... But all in all, a great place to see!

It's not a hotel but you can stay in a suite for the night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Singer Castle is a beautiful orginal castle. The castle features orginal furnishings and wonderful tour guides. The views from the castle and the grounds are one of a kind and simply breathing. The castle needs a few cosmetic restorations, but is still really wonderful. Make sure you have a comfortable pair of shoes, because there are lots of stairs to reach each level. The cost is very reasonable and it shouldn't be missed! The castle does have one large bedroom to rent, but most people come here simply to view the castle. So I don't consider it a "hotel", but an attraction.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singer Castle on Dark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singer Castle on Dark Island

Address: Box 59, Dark Island, Chippewa Bay, NY 13623
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Chippewa Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chippewa Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Singer Castle On Dark Island Hotel Chippewa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singer Castle on Dark Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.