We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Woods!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fern Lodge to your Saves list
The Fern Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Fiddlehead Bay Road, Chestertown, NY 12817   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Clinton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Woods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband was searching for a place near Lake George and decided to try this one.A little difficult to find but when we did Wow! Tucked away we saw a timber lodge on a lake, huge great room complete with moose head over the fireplace, comfy leather couches, beautiful Henckley table and chairs set for breakfast , adjoining porch, our room was on the first level, comfy king bed, gas fireplace, our own deck overlooking the yard with chairs, fire pit, dock.. Our bathroom was spacious with a Jacuzzi tub and walk in stone shower with 3 shower heads!
No TV in our room but on the lower level is a room with exercise equipment, pool table,bar, and a home theatre room with huge leather seats facing a big screen TV, even a popcorn machine!
Morning breakfast was more than ample with orange juice, fresh fruit,2 kinds of cold cereal on the table, then Sharon, the owner, (such a nice lady) gave us quite a variety to choose from:one day omlettes with asparagus,next day French toast or eggs anyway you wanted, choice of bacon or sausage, fresh pastry, a hearty start.I can imagine this place in the winter, Great all year! Don't miss the 2 friendly labs(you can't). Sharon goes out of her way to make sure all your needs are met, tells you about all the really good restaurants in the area! Such a good time, glad we found it, will be back!

Room Tip: We found our room on the first floor very convenient, quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels and sheets are changes as requested,complimentary water bottles provided to use and take home
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves! Thanks for the lovely review- I couldn't have written a better one myself! Make sure you do use our directions and not your GPS…. If you would like a tv in your room ask for "Forest", "Cedar" or "Birch". I'm glad you liked my breakfasts- but Chef Chris' breakfasts are a very hard act to follow- he must have had a day or 2 off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's all been said before, but I couldn't help but chime in. The Fern Lodge is spectacular. Sharon and Greg are wonderful innkeepers who are really, genuinely happy to have to you in their stay. The lodge is beautifully appointed with all you could need or want in a lakeside mountain home. We stayed in the Cedar room for two nights and just adored the vaulted ceilings, massive fireplace, comfy furnishing, walk in shower, and jacuzzi tub. The amenities are top notch and we only wish we had more time to spend lounging around on the deck, in front of the fire, or down by the lake. Breakfast was delicious, and we really enjoyed talking to the other guests. We hope to come back here again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Please come back again and again! It was lovely to meet you….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Fern Lodge is a true jewel in the Adirondacks and I am hesitant to want to share what a gorgeous place this is since it may increase in popularity. My significant other "fell in love" with this exclusive lodge that is not only beautiful but also very comfortable and homey. Sharon and Greg are wonderful hosts who live on the property and are more than eager to share their incredible home and family. We were only able to spend one night at The Fern Lodge; we were left wanting a few more lazy days and relaxing nights. The lodge has five immaculate rooms that are decorated in true Adirondack style. Thank you Greg and Sharon for creating a perfect getaway. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words. Don't worry about us becoming too popular- we have only 5 rooms and that is all we have any intention of having. We will always have a room for you for a very relaxing romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I have to say....the place was amazing. The accommodations were beyond fantastic and the hospitality was five star. I would highly recommend the fern lodge to anyone who is looking for that perfect getaway place. Thank you Sharon and Greg for making our time there perfect!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank YOU for such a lovely review. Come back soon! Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My boyfriend & I visited Jan.11-12 and had the most incredible time. Besides the room (Birch) being unbelievable & gorgeous in every way, the staff was beyond top notch. Susan & Brittany and Chef Chris were incredible. So wonderful and just the most accommodating and welcoming staff imaginable. Susan, especially, was a gem- so kind and we had such a nice time chatting with her throughout the course of our stay. Everything about the Fern Lodge was perfect, from the grounds, to the lodge, to the food, and even sweet little Shadow & Noche! We are already looking forward to making a return sometime in the spring/ summer! It is the best of the best.

Room Tip: The Birch Room was GORGEOUS with the double sided fireplace and a nice view over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Susan is a great Innkeeper and we are very proud to have such great people. Glad we could provide you with a 4-legged guide-in-training as well, but how did you get her to sit still long enough to take a picture?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakin, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. You know the kind of cabin you dream about? The one with fireplaces and rustic furniture and big soft beds and of course, a view of the water? Well, check check and check. This one goes even beyond your dreams. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your review and PLEASE come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Words can't describe this place. We will be back very often as the Fern Lodge gave us just what we needed to get away from city life and recharge our lives back to reality. Being situated on a lake gave us the tranquility but only minutes away from the mountain hikes that gave us our exercise for the week. It is truly a paradise snuggled away in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Come back soon! Many of our guests enjoy trying a different room or a different season- try us in the winter with the fireplaces blazing. Gore Mountain is great skiing and just 18 minutes away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Road, Chestertown, NY 12817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fern Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.