We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge with Nature at your Door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fern Lodge to your Saves list
The Fern Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Fiddlehead Bay Road, Chestertown, NY 12817   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 nites get 3rd free
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge with Nature at your Door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fern Lodge Is exceptional! My husband and i have had the pleasure to visit here twice. We have stayed both on the main floor and upstairs. The view is beautiful. A gem sure to melt any stresses away. Wine by the lake at the firepit, a soak in the outdoor hot tub counting stars or a ride on the gondola at Gore Mountain. We look forward to visiting again, and enjoying Sharon's yummy breakfast each morning :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent 4 wonderful nights at the Fern lodge in July and had a relaxing time! I had emailed Sharon ahead of time to let her know about my dietary restrictions (vegan) and she was able to accommodate my needs every morning (delicious oatmeal, sweet potato hash, fruit, french toast, veggie scrambles, soy milk and granola). My boyfriend also enjoyed all of his (non-vegan) breakfasts!

We went out on the evening boat rides twice and enjoyed learning more about the area and relaxing on the water! Sharon and Susan provided great local recommendations for lunch/dinners! We also enjoyed making a bon fire on site and spending the late afternoons swimming and relaxing on the property. We took out a 2 person kayak that was provided and enjoyed our paddle to the lagoon!

We stayed in the cedar room, and although it did not have a lake view, we had a screened on porch that was very private. The bathroom is true luxury with double sinks, double jetted tub, steam shower with multiple jets and plenty of room for two! I felt like I was at a spa every night!

We enjoyed the company of the staff, other guests and, of course, Shadow (the lovable resident pup)! The lodge was close enough to lake George and boltons landing, but far enough away to have more privacy on the water. Sharon and Greg gave us enough privacy and allowed us to really feel at home at their inn, yet were very warm and hospitable at the same time.

We had a great stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Fern Lodge for 4 days with a friend in the 'Forest Room'. It was a great choice for those who need their own bedroom. The Lodge is amazing. You need to check out the website. It was lovingly designed and built by a husband and wife with great creative abilitities. Everything you would want is there at your fingertips. I loved having our own movie theatre with AC, popcorn machine and unlimited drinks in the nearby bar. The Lodge sits right on Friends Lake ... you can walk out your room down to the little boathouse and take out Susan's lightweight responsive canoe or one of several kayaks. They also have an 'African Queen' like boat with wicker seats and table for evening rides on the lake with Susan. Breakfasts are wonderful and all you can eat. This was my first time in the Adirondacks and I thoroughly enjoyed hiking, paddling and biking. The day it rained was great too hanging out in the lodge with Susan and Brittany. The staff makes this top notch Lodging experience one up on all others. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are 5 different rooms to choose from. If you need two bedrooms...the forest room is great wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed five nights in this very tranquil setting. Our room, Birch, was large and comfortable. We LOVED having the covered and screened in porch. Perfect day and night, in any weather, for relaxing and enjoying the peaceful view of the lake and gardens below. We used the hot tub, pool table and movie theatre. At times, we felt like we were the only guests. Loved that privacy! The evening boat ride was quite enjoyable. Sharon and Greg are friendly hosts. We enjoyed spending some time exploring the neighboring area with Shadow, their family dog. He's such a geniune, welcoming delight. Our room was waiting and very clean upon our arrival with everything one would need. The breakfasts were huge and fresh with local, quality ingredients. There are many great activities and restaurants all within 20-30 minutes...Lake George, Mount Prospect, Gore Ski Resort, outdoor adventures and quaint little towns. Perfect location for tranquil, relaxing getaway, yet great access to everything for when you want to enjoy the beautiful Adirondack area. Will definitely return...

Room Tip: The Birch room was large, private and we LOVED the screened in porch. No rain or bugs day and night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Sharon and Greg truly understand the meaning if hospitality. The lodge is gorgeous and their hospitality far exceeds expectations. The grounds are beautiful and staff is outstanding. A wonderful experience and relaxing occasion. A stress free and rejuvenating stay. The location is tranquil. Easy access from I-87, 10 minutes from exit ramp. Fire places everywhere. The boat tour was a great addition to the stay. The owners are the most generous and wonderful people I have met.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Once again it was difficult to leave the relaxing atmoshere of the Inn to head back to our busy lives. This is the fourth time we have stayed with Sharon and Greg at the Fern lodge and once again it was the perfect 3 day vacation. The service is spectacular, the room was immaculate and comfortable and the food was outstanding. We added a snowmobile tour and a walk on the frozen lake to this year's adventure. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have had the good fortune to stay at The Fern Lodge twice so far and we are so looking forward to returning. Upon arrival we felt as though we were coming home with both Sharon and Greg there to welcome us.Within minutes we were all settled into our room and relaxing in front of the fire enjoying a glass of wine with our hosts. Every detail of the lodge has been thought of and attended to. And we slept so exceptionally well - we did not hear a single sound - which is exactly what we needed.

The Fern Lodge truly is a special place for a perfect couples getaway. We look forward to returning again this spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Road, Chestertown, NY 12817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fern Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.