We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in the bar area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friend's Lake Inn

Friend's Lake Inn
963 Friends Lake Road, Chestertown, NY 12817
518 494 4751
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Friend's Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 restaurants in Chestertown
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Murphy Road
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in the bar area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nice quiet seating area in the bar area. Had open face ELK sandwich, special for the day. Very good, not gamely. Service was top notch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    37
    13
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brant Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming adirndack dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Friends lake inn offers two choices of dining. 1. main dining room room with hardwood, floral fabrics and discrete lighting. 2. bar, which we call the bistro room, informal, relaxing. Menu choices are seasonal and focussed, very tasty, nicely served in both settings.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A special occasion made even more special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband surprised me tonight with dinner at Friends Lake Inn for my birthday. When we arrived at our table, there was a birthday card signed by members of the staff and a menu with my name printed across the top. These were lovely touches that certainly showed the personal care the owners extend toward their diners. I had Pumpkin Bisque which was simply delicious. When I indicated that I was interested in one of the appetizers as my entree, it was no problem to make this change. Our dinner ended with coffee and complimentary chocolates. Our waitress was attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and fully accommodating. The Inn dining room is charming, attractive and comfortable. We are new residents to the Adirondacks and my husband and I agree that Friends Lake Inn will be a regular dining experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“From a romantic dinner to a fun evening in the bar area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This place in the middle of nowhere offers everything from snacks and tapas in the bar area to a romantic dinner in the dining room. We arrived very late so we only had a wonderful glass of wine (what a selection!) and some tapas. We should've gone earlier and had a full dinner!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Adirondacks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food is not worth the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have been going to the Friends Lake Inn for dinner for over 20 years and it used to be fabulous. We had an okay, not great dinner a few years ago and were reluctant to go back. Well, we decided to give it a try again and we were very disappointed. The warm spinach salad was great but that was about it... I ordered the tuna tartare and it was supposed to have white truffle oil on it, which it did not. My entree was red snapper which was very bland and did not taste fresh. I hate to complain but the food is not cheap!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friend's Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to Friend's Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friend's Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.