We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice addition to Chestertown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hemlock Ledge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hemlock Ledge
6332 State Route 9, Chestertown, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Chestertown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

As we have done in the past, we read TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed after our visit to The Hemlock Ledge.

Husband started off with a very meaty bowl of chili and said it was very good. We also split an order of cheese fries with gravy which hit the spot. Our entrees were fettuccini Alfredo with chicken and shrimp scampi with fresh steamed broccoli and mashers. Shrimp & broccoli were very tasty; mashers were bland, but I didn't order the dish for them, so no big deal at all. His fettuccini was very filling (as usual), and he wound up taking about half if it home with us.

We hope this place will be here when we come back in 2 years - stop by - its worth the treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow what a suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A rare busy night in Chestertown and our large party was accommodated very nicely by the staff here. We received great service and good food. I was pleasantly surprised that inside this old, dated building was a bright, clean and inviting restaurant. Our waitress was wonderful and fast. We ate lots of yummy apps and ordered many different types of burgers, everyone was pleased. If you're looking for a casual place to go with friends and/or kids the Hemlock is it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Surprising Place To Eat Hidden in the Adirondacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was with two friends and the restaurant that we had intended to eat at no longer had the special that we wanted so we had heard about the Hemlock and decided to give it a try---glad we did! Chestertown is a very small community about 20 Miles North of Lake George in the Adirondacks, You could drive through this place in 1 minute and you would never think to stop at the Hemlock unless you were a local or a local told you about it. The soups are homemade (I had the creamy basil tortellini-it was fantastic) excellent nightly special, and a solid menu--somewhat limited but one that offers something for everyone. Service was pretty fast and the restaurant is both clean and tastefully decorated. Everything, from the food to the friendly service to just how the place was decorated was a very nice surprise! Its not a large place and they have some limited hours of operation so you might want to call ahead; this place is definitely worth finding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The french onion soup is the best I will EVER have!! Also, their bacon egg and cheese burger is absolutely amazing! Just eating those two dishes make my mouth so happy! I have tried other dishes as well and they are just as good. I just love food, and they make good food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Thing in Chestertown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice change since this was "Anywheres". The new owners are very friendly and menu is very accomadating to all (health conscious, kids, etc). Portions are very big and food is very good and staff is very nice, esp bartenders.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hemlock Ledge also viewed

 

Been to The Hemlock Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hemlock Ledge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.