We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Lake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Friends Lake Inn to your Saves list
Friends Lake Inn
963 Friends Lake Rd., Chestertown, NY 12817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sleigh Ride Package
Ranked #2 of 7 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Cannot say enough of about this wonderful gem in the Adirondacks. Stayed for our anniversary and purchased the anniversary package. We stayed in Ledgestone; the most comfortable bed I ever slept in (feather topper). The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub and unbelievable 3 sided shower. The room had a love seat, fireplace, a small desk and sitting area and a balcony. There was a sitting are outside the room as well. Wine cellar was amazing and there is a nice billiard room downstairs. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Service was amazing, attentive and pleasant throughout the stay, they really went out of their way to make your anniversary special. The grounds were beautiful and the pool was very relaxing. Nice pool house with 2 separate rooms with showers and changing rooms. The Lake is across the street and kayaks are provided, very peaceful and calm private Lake. (only owners of homes allowed, no public access) Did not finish hiking as we went after a rain shower and forgot bug spray. Would love to visit in the winter to snow shoe on the trails. Very relaxing and romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The "Adirondack" rooms are the best, I believe there are only 4 or 6 at the moment, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Inn! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will join us again.

P.S. - the feather toppers are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Friends Lake Inn was a stopping-off point on a longer road trip to Canada, but it offers so much more than bed and breakfast. Our room (# 7) was large and comfortable, with a king-sized bed and a bathroom outfitted with a shower. It also had the added bonus of a TV, which is rare in this otherwise upscale property. It pays to read the room descriptions on their website carefully since each room is different, and you may find that one room offers features that are important to you while another does not. The food and wine in their on-site restaurant are topnotch, and a separate bar area has wine by the glass, beer and cocktails and smaller plates if you're not looking for a three-course dinner or more. For breakfast, they offer choices from a standard American menu, but you could add yummy homemade muffins, yogurt, fruit and other goodies from a table nearby. All the staff, from the owners to the servers, were friendly and accommodating. We'll definitely be back when our travels take us up this way again.

Room Tip: Room #7 faces the front of the property, but it's in a rural area and is quiet. It has a king-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! While I am impartial - I agree the breakfast selection is great! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Wife and I needed a getaway weekend and the Friends lake Inn exceeded our expectations. Beautiful inn and the staff were excellent - very professional, courteous, and friendly. Enjoyed a nice hike in the woods, relaxed by a fire then had a great meal at the restaurant. Only problem was we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Mid-winters visit was fantastic. The inn keeper was very accommodating. The room was excellent (updated and clean, spacious) and very relaxing. Staff made us feel right at home. Food also, dinner was really like nothing I've ever tasted, very enjoyable. The trails are a nice bonus for outdoor activity. I feel like sometimes you go places and you get what they are serving, what they want the experience to be for you. Here, I liked how everyone would talk to you to help you find the exact right food, drink, or skiing activity. Can't put a price on that. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent a late February weekend at the Friends Lake Inn with extended family. The place is nothing short of spectacular. You can see room photos on the web so I won't describe them other than that they were very clean and comfortable, and as nice as they appear in pictures. The food was phenomenal. Between the members of our party we were able to enjoy a large sampling of the menu items and each was of the highest quality and flavor. The table service was attentive but relaxed enough to enable conversation and thorough enjoyment of every aspect of the meals. We also enjoyed several of the other amenities such as the sauna after a jaunt snowshoeing on the beautifully groomed trails. All of the above aside the absolute best aspect of the Friends Lake Inn was the staff. They truly lived up to the name of the inn with their gracious, friendly, and happy delivery of every service. Every member of the staff should be commended for the wonderful experience they provide guests. I want to come back in summer and fall to enjoy some more Adirondack hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I (we) surprised my wife for her 40th birthday by bringing in her two sisters and family for a weekend at the friends Lake Inn. I was concerned that the staff might blow my cover and accidentally reveal my plan as they give all their guests a personal welcome letter with all the dinner reservations and itinerary for the weekend, but they kept everything under a lid and the surprise went off perfect.

The inn keepers were very pleasant, second only to the other guests who all seemed to be enjoying a perfect winter weekend in the Adirondacks. We were traveling with our 7 month old child, which we were a little nervous about, but everyone including once again e the guests made him out to be a prince. Each meal was prepared to perfection, and the knowledgable staff was there at every step of service. I was very impressed by the wine list and could not resist ordering a few bottles from the 70's as you rarely see these from day to day.

If I could suggest any improvements it would only be that more people realize what a gem this place is and that while you are there, time seems to pass a little bit slower than it does in our everyday lives.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Thank you for one of the most memorable weekends anyone could ask for! The views, hospitality and food were excellent and allowed for a very relaxing and magical time. My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway and immediately fell in love with the place. We enjoyed a sleigh ride, an in-room couples massage and cross country skiing. This is a perfect place to go when you are truly looking for that quality couple time together, without having to spend time leaving the premises...that was a deciding factor when choosing to visit Friends Lake Inn. The food was beyond excellent as well as the courtesy and genuine kindness of the staff. The ambiance is both upscale yet homey and very welcoming. We did not want to leave! Friends Lake Inn is truly a gem and we cannot wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friends Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Lake Inn

Address: 963 Friends Lake Rd., Chestertown, NY 12817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friends Lake Inn, a member of Select Registry. Is a luxury Adirondack hotel offering romantic lodging and two on-site dining options; our fine dining restaurant and welcoming taproom featuring regional beers. Guests are treated to a full made-to-order breakfast each morning. Property amenities include access to Friends Lake and complimentary kayaks, a heated swimming pool, sauna, miles of hiking trails, and on-site cross country ski and snowshoe rentals. The perfect "all inclusive" getaway in the Southern Adirondacks Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Friends Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Friends Lake Hotel Chestertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.