We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments to Brett” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bryle Place, 2 Bryle Place, Chester, NY 10918   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Compliments to Brett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our youngest grandson was sent to the front desk with the task of obtaining a certain phone number. The clerk, Brett, was extremely patient with him when James forgot the name we were looking for. Eventually James remembered the name and Brett wrote it down for him. It was lovely that someone as young as Brett could deal with a flustered child so kindly. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
25
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a better than expected hotel. Check in was quick and easy, The staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were surprisingly nice. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. Although we did not use them, there was a pool and an excercise room. There was also a "lounge" area that served a morning breakfast which was more that the usual bagels and muffin type of continental fare. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, was served as well as the toast, bagel, muffin, cereal staples. Coffee was plentiful and good.I would highly recommend this hotel for people traveling through this area in New York.

There is a baseball/softball training facility nearby "Rocksports/Frozen Ropes" which is why we were in Chester. If you are there to attend a training camp or college showcase, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a 2 queen bed room which was spacious and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nothing wrong but nothing outstanding.

Staff is friendly enough, room is clean and spacious and the sleep is predictable.

Pool and hot tub are nice touches and the gym is adequate.

The breakfast is well OK

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear IntSommelier,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were pleased to see your positive comments for our staff, rooms, and our pool and hot tub. We also appreciate the high score for Cleanliness. We take all of these reviews seriously to help us identify areas where we might improve. We do hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you so we might show you how great our hotel can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more positive, please do not hesitate to let a member of our staff know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped for 1 night on our way to NY. It was a quick and efficient check in, clean room on ground floor which I am not fun of, but we didn’t want to be difficult and ask to change. We could hear kids running upstairs but after 11 they probably got tired and we all slept well. The bedding is on the soft side, even the “hard” pillow was quite soft, but comfortable. Didn't have time to use the pool, maybe next time.
Breakfast was good, fresh fruits would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chester, NY Holiday Inn Express in January for 2 nights,in February for 1 night, in April for 1 night and in May for 4 nights, all in 2013. Our son was married recently in that area and we made our trips up there to coordinate vendors for the rehearsal dinner. Each time we stayed at the hotel, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff was very accommodating, helpful and so friendly. Special "shout outs" to the hotel manager Brian and Brett and Gina, both at the desk. We had a couple of emergency bookings for the wedding and no matter how stressed I was, they were calm and solved my problems. Even the maintenance men were polite.The breakfast was good, always hot, and fresh. The women in the kitchen were pleasant and helpful. We had out of town guests stay here for the wedding and everyone commented how great their stay was. Housekeeping got them all into their rooms in plenty of time for the ceremony. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to the Hudson Valley in NY!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels for various events as I follow my children around the country and attend their college graduations. The HI Express in Chester was one of the nicest and most comfortable family hotels my wife and I have visited. The four rooms we reserved for family were very spacious with comfortable beds, large sitting areas with fold-out beds, large useful bathrooms, refrigerators and microwaves, and new LG TVs. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly as they dealt with a deluge of parents attending the West Point graduation. In fact, on graduation day the Staff got up early to ensure that breakfast was ready by 5:00 am(!) so all the visiting parents/family could eat and be on their way to West Point, which opened the gates early that day. That was service beyond the call. Just as nice, Chester is surrounded by very pretty towns (Warwick was my favorite) that provide surprisingly fine dining and wonderful sightseeing. If you're visiting West Point just know that Chester is about 35-40 minutes away (in good weather), but the drive is pretty. You might be able to find closer lodging, but after having stayed in Newburgh and Nanuet over the years, this hotel just past the Central Valley has lots to offer, including shopping for all those things you forgot but can easily purchase at Walmart, Target, Kohl's, Staples, and a myriad of other well-known stores. If we return for football games or other events in the future we will definitely stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Typically, Holiday Inn Express is not my first choice hotel...I need to be more open-minded! I booked 8 or 9 rooms several months ago for family and friends use during WP graduation weekend. We ended up using 7 rooms, and all of our guests were suitably impressed by our experience at this hotel. It's just a bit further than Central Valley (10 minutes, maybe), but a MUCH better value. We saved a significant chunk of change on each room. In addition, since many of our guests weren't sure if they could come, or for how many days, we were able to cancel these rooms, if need be, on a day's notice. (We gave them as much notice as we could, but there are a couple members of my family who have real issues with planning in advance, so this we comforting!)

The rooms were clean, large, very comfortable. One of the best hotel staffs we've encountered lately. Friendly, efficient, helpful. I made several changes from one room type to another prior to arrival, and the on-site group group reservations staff accommodated every request they could. Also, after arrival, we thought we might want an additional room for one night - there was no room availability - but the hotel got a cancelation for that night, and they immediately contacted me to see if we wanted it.

There were MANY guests there for West Point Graduation, and on a miserable, rainy, graduation day, the hotel began breakfast service early (5:00 am instead of 6:30, I think) to accommodate their guests. They could have served their regular hours and made a higher profit on our rooms, but they chose to make their guests feel welcome, and enable them to leave the hotel very early, for a long day, with a good breakfast under their belts. Oh, and did I mention profit margin? We didn't feel we were taken advantage of on the room rate! Yay!

The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a b'fast included hotel in quite a while. Fresh fruit, the usual bagels, pastries, english muffins, oatmeal, cold cereals, but also eggs (that were edible!), pork AND turkey sausage, french toast sticks or pancakes, etc. Coffee anytime.

Oh yes, after we checked out and were headed home, my cell rang - it was the hotel. The maid had found some items I'd left in a drawer in my room - including jewelry. They called right away to see if I wanted to come back, or what. We were exhausted after a very busy, tiring weekend, and didn't want to turn around, so they agreed to Fed Ex it to my home. The staff is honest as well as pleasant and helpful!

I'd stay here again in a heart beat if I were in the area and definitely recommend it for events at West Point.

Room Tip: This hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms. I made one reservation on-line myself, didn't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen

Address: 2 Bryle Place, 2 Bryle Place, Chester, NY 10918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Chester! Conveniently located in the beautiful Hudson Valley area, the Holiday Inn Express, Chester is just 8 miles from the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets and 20 miles from West Point Military Academy, Bear Mountain State Park and Mountain Creek Ski and Water Park. The Chester Industrial Park, less then 1 mile away, includes companies such as C&S Wholesale Grocers, Amscan and Steris. Also, located close by, Orange Regional Medical Center and Saint Anthony's Community Hospital. If you are flying into the Orange County area, we are 17 miles away from Stewart International Airport, and 60 miles from JFK, LaGaurdia and Newark Airports. Public transportation to and from New York City is available through Shortline Bus/Coach USA Company, 1 mile from Holiday Inn Express and Metro-North Train Station only 8 miles from Holiday Inn Express. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chester! Relax and enjoy by our large heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar includes our signature cinnamon rolls - delicious! All rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the entire hotel. Planning a meeting or event in the area? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester has a board room and a party room - great for baby or wedding showers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Monroe - Goshen Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.