We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's Bistro

Christopher's Bistro
69 Brookside Ave, Chester, NY 10918-1302
845-610-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this restaurant. Have been here for lunch and dinner and even a mother's day brunch. Their food is excellent! love the goat cheese roasted veggie ravioli's. one of my absolute fav things on the menu. A must try for Chester and all surrounding areas! Love that you can get small portions or regular sized ones. And they have amazing salads as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lunch menu is too limited. Portions too small. Prices too high. Asked for thousand island dressing for my grilled chicken salad and they don't carry it. This is a very popular dressing and I had to settle for ranch, which I don't particularly care for.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excited on this new find!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wow! We were really blown away by this place! Living in this rural area is always a challenge in finding new places with really good food, but this is one of them! After seeing a movie nearby we had dinner here last evening and I am now excited for future movie and dinner dates.
Let me start by saying that we are pretty much "foodies"; love well-prepared food and doesn't need to be pretentious or in a five star restaurant; just want fresh, well prepared food that makes us say "ahhhh".
This placed served just that! While many may not like the setting (1/2 bar, 1/2 restaurant=Bistro) we were comfortable and the noise level didn't impact conversation. While sitting close to the front door(directly behind the hostess' station) I initially thought we might have an issue with the front door and cool air. We did not but I could see the potential for a couple of tables to be affected by some cold blasts. I did notice an unit heater at the ceiling in this area so it appears that management has prepared for this possibility.
But, on to the food.....I had the spinach salad with warm dressing(1/2 portion). Probably the best spinach salad I have ever eaten. And without saying that to my hubby, he expressed the very same thing to me! Coincidence? I think not, it was that great! Not overly dressed, fresh, fresh spinach with blue cheese, glazed mushrooms and red onions, delish! Note, that we shared a half portion and it was more than ample; I suspect a full could easily serve a table of four.
For dinner my husband ordered the Tuna and I the seafood over pasta scampi style. Fortunately our server (who was excellent) asked me if I wished a full or half portion. I had missed that option on the menu and knowing my eating habits ordered the half, that was a good move, but then again maybe not.....
Dinner was magnificent for both of us. And we both agreed that each others was great after sharing. The tuna was super fresh, full of flavor and the seasoning just right, complimenting and not overpowering the wonderful tuna flavor. It was also cooked to perfection, as ordered. My seafood was also incredibly fresh with clams, shrimp, calamari and a scallop and a different but perfect creamy scampi sauce. I will say hare that I am usually not a "creamy" sauce lover, but in this case creamy was just right, only a touch so that the dish was not a buttery/oily scampi but a very light cream scampi. Done to perfection. While all of the seafood was sweet, the way seafood should always be, I have to comment on that one fabulous scallop. So often I will have scallops that are missing that sweet spot, the way a scallop should taste. They are a metallic blah taste. Not what a fresh scallop should be. But this was not that, as my husband agreed. I almost lamented I hadn't ordered the Scallop and Shrimp special, which I couldn't without knowing what kind of scallops I would get, sweet or metal. Ah, wish I had!
So, even with a half portion serving we took home leftovers and today for lunch I had both for lunch, still perfection! So beware the portion sizes if you are not a leftover type of person like me, but if you are, maybe go for that full portion of seafood pasta so you get more of those delicious scallops and more leftovers!
Service, I will say that even while they appeared to be at full table capacity, was excellent. Our server was perfect, offering good choices and friendly but not overly so, perfectly appropriate.
We look forward to future movie and dinners at this place in the very near future!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our new go-to place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First visit here and were pleasantly surprised. Great atmosphere, plenty of space to move around and not be cramped, good food and close to home. Will be back. Would be better if they had a barrier around door to prevent the cold air from coming in and blasting us every time it opened.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Too noisy - when live music in there it's unbearable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ordered the tuna special - very disappointed. Tuna was not tender, we were expecting much better.
However, the scallop appetizer is great!
They also measure the wine - to us that's pretentious...the markup is incredible so hey, do like Catherine's or Old Erie and pour a generous glass.
It's a good spot - just room for improvement and hope to see changes made.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Christopher's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.