We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmere Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenmere Mansion to your Saves list
Glenmere Mansion
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   634 Pine Hill Road, Chester, NY 10918   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impeccable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

There is a lot of good things to say about this amazing property. One of the most exquisite I have ever been to. I am going to skip all the good things (since they are all mentioned in previous comments) and just point out a couple of things. Room service closes at a certain time and the in room dining is very limited. It is understandable since it is more of a Tuscan Style villa with limited human resources. Also, the room had gorgeous views but I wish the windows were a larger for a better outlook. The window was behind a desk, and I believe that the view needs to be more glorified than that (Stayed in the princess suite). Staff super friendly and very accommodative. Bathroom had heated floors. Spa was excellent. Brunch was the best meal. Other meals were OK (relevant to a relais et chateaux property) and that is probably the only downside. Great place to detox.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent 3 nights here over President's Day weekend. A very easy drive from NYC. Glenmere was just what we were looking for - a relaxing weekend, by the fire, outside of the city, with good food and wine.
Mansion and grounds - beautiful, really feels like a home with little touches throughout. They very kindly upgraded us to Room 8 - a superior king with a fireplace. Beautifully decorated and spacious enough for our needs for the weekend. Loved the games (chess, checkers, backgammon, scrabble, etc.) especially during the winter months indoors. Also enjoyed spending time in the Library.
Food - we had a dinner in the Supper Room, the champagne brunch on Sunday, and a few meals at the Tavern, as well as the complimentary breakfast each day. While all were very good, we preferred the more laid back vibe of the Tavern. The champagne brunch was also excellent! We did not need dinner that evening! Definitely take advantage of the breakfast in the mornings.
Service - wonderful, friendly, there when you needed them but not on top of you.
Spa - while the spa itself is amazing, this is the one area we were somewhat disappointed in. Friends and family had said it was the "best massage ever" and we found ours to just be average. Also would have liked to be able to enjoy steam room, sauna, etc. without it being part of a paid service.
All in all, would highly recommend Glenmere Mansion. Will definitely be back during the summer to enjoy the grounds, the pool, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was the most exquisite property I have ever stayed at in the US. It felt like we were invited to someone's luxurious house in Tuscany. The mansion is absolutely gorgeous. The service is top notch and the ambiance very intimate. We were happily surprised to be upgraded when we checked in because it was my friend's birthday. That was a very delicate gesture . Large bedroom with a fire place, high ceiling, nice furniture, marble bathroom...all was nice. The SPA is a gem and the massage of high quality. The library is very charming, the large living room very comfortable and the dining room with tables by the windows very nice. The only negative thing for us was the menu. Although the food was good, it was not outstanding for a relais et chateaux. What was more surprising to us was the fact that the menu was the same every night . Desserts were not that great. And i don't think having a ice cream sunday in the menu is appropriate for this type of restaurant. But beside that, we loved the place and will definitely come back at summer time to enjoy the outdoor . I would highly recommend this place especially for a romantic getaway only 1 hour 1/2 from the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is a very easy weekend trip from NYC. We spent the one afternoon walking through the quaint local towns and the other at the spa. It was a relaxing getaway. The staff at the hotel and spa were incredibly friendly and attentive. The rooms were amazing - we had a fireplace and heated floors in the bathroom, together with a soaking tub and tv.

The most amazing part of the trip was that I lost the diamond necklace my husband gave me for our 1st anniversary. We looked everywhere. The hotel staff said they would thoroughly search the room for us. An hour after we arrived home, the hotel called to say they found the necklace. It was caught in the sink drain. Obviously, I was very grateful.

Room Tip: Vanderbilt suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is not so much a resort for the indulged and privileged as it is a chance to feel what it is like to be the guest in a very rich, and tasteful,person's home. While the dimensions are on the grand scale, there pervades a sense of intimacy and illusion that every staff member is obsessed with only your comfort.
The Seigneur assoluta of Glenmere is Alan who commands a brilliantly trained and gracious staff that seem to make you feel that you are their first and only guest; they delight in your arrival,anticipate your every need and seem bereft at your departure. They cook for you in dueling restaurants for your palette-one supremely formal and bewitching,even at breakfast and the other cozy and comforting in its clubby confines. The food is world class and the portions, especially the desserts, are extravagant. Look among your fellow diners and you will find a conspiracy of gluttonous exultation. Glenmere knows one needs to indulge from time to time and that such indiscretions are best served over the top.
Of course to balance this, there is an equally munificent spa with perhaps the finest relaxation salon ever produced. The staff there attends to the senses corporeal as ardently as the chef feeds the palette. A gym that is special for its ability to inspire you to work up an appetite for more dining indulgence rounds out the amenty offering.
Beyond the obvious, Glenmere embraces its guests with winning details from a Nespresso and snacking station near the bedrooms to books that are stacked everywhere, from the gameroom, the guestrooms and even the spa. Music proliferates throughout the common areas to tranquilize the soul.
Glenmere is a gem that you will probably want to keep a secret, because once a guest you will be a devoted returning one hoping ,that despite all the changes in the outside world, the experience of Glenmere will stand permanently in its present perfection.

Room Tip: all are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a fabulous gem of a hotel! We felt as if we'd gone to a rich friend's house who left us their staff for our visit. Subtle touches throughout the mansion give you that "right at home" feeling. We loved starting the day with a coffee from the Nespresso machine just outside our room, playing backgammon in the library with a drink before dinner, and perusing the fabulous collection of books always within reach. The staff hit just the right balance of anticipating our needs without seeming over bearing or ever present. Allen and Dan have created a magical oasis that we will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We thought the facilities were very nice and the dining experience was good. And for a quick getaway from NYC, it is very convenient. That said, we didn't find many things to do and the property seems really expensive for what it is - we think a property like Ocean House in RI (farther away) offers better value. Nothing wrong with Glenmere, but nothing stood out for us, either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenmere Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmere Mansion

Address: 634 Pine Hill Road, Chester, NY 10918
Location: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenmere Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmere Mansion is a Relais & Chatueax, 18-room luxury boutique hotel on 150 Hudson Valley acres overlooking Glenmere Lake. The Gilded Age mansion, circa 1911, underwent a 3 year renovation, opening Jan. 2010. Acres of beautiful gardens, heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis, bocce and croquet courts, and 2 restaurants on site. Spa opens summer 2011. Romantic getaway, (children over 16). Voted "Top Ten Small Boutique Hotel in the World" by Gayot Hotel Guide 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Glenmere Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmere Mansion Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmere Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.