We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Venue & Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmere Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenmere Mansion to your Saves list
Glenmere Mansion
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   634 Pine Hill Road, Chester, NY 10918   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Venue & Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently conducted a team building session at the Glenmere, and found it to be an incredible experience! The venue is amazing -- absolutely gorgeous and impeccably managed. Beautiful property with lots of great space for us to move our team around, inside and outside. The staff is professional and sincerely happy to serve! The food was to die for (especially the scones!) and the spa is beyond anything I have seen. I was super impressed -- and that is tough to do! I want to go back and just be a guest!! (Special thanks to Kathryn Hennessey, who was so easy to work with and accommodated our unusual and changing needs throughout our event!) Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The closest you can get to Tuscany from Manhattan. We were instantly, transported to Tuscany as soon as we drove into the pebble driveway with a beautiful fountain. Someone immediately, greeted us and whisked our luggage to our room. Moments after we entered our room, we were served a welcoming Bellini.

The hotel which is a former estate is exquisitely decorated down to every little detail. The owners have filled the house with treasures from their adventures around the world. It is a mix of new and old without ever feeling stuffy. (An issue that I had with the rooms at the Mayflower Inn.)

Our room was beautifully appointed with its own courtyard. The room was very spacious. Water bottles are provided in the room, throughout the hotel and as you depart. A very thoughtful touch. The bathroom had a large English shower with one sink and toilet.

The room did not have a safe but I understand that they are on order. I was surprised to learn that the blankets were not automatically cleaned between each guest. In this day and age, we have all seen the Dateline report and don't want to sleep with blankets that are not washed between guests. Not what I would expect from a Relais & Chateau property.

The pillows are not down and we thought they were uncomfortable. We both woke up with a crick in our necks. We had to speak to a few people before they could locate two down pillows which seemed odd.

The Spa is nothing short of fabulous. It is again, decorated to perfection. Be sure to see the hammam room which is so incredible that I was sorry that I didn't have time for the Turkish or Moroccan treatments in addition to my massage. Blossom was my masseuse and she is outstanding. After the massage, I was offered a smoothie in addition to water. A very nice touch.

Drinks on the terrace feel as if we were transformed to the Gatsby era. Be sure to visit the terrace if only for the most spectacular view which looks right out of a Hudson River School painting.

Dinner at The Supper Club is very elegant but not stuffy. The Supper Club is closed Sunday nights. The food was delicious and I thought the portions were more than generous. At $85 pp, it is a steal compared to prix fix dinners in NYC for a top notch restaurant. Breakfast is also served in this room. The homemade scones and jams are yummy especially, the tomato with bacon jam.

There is a fabulous china room in the back which you should definitely, peek into since it is from another era.

The Frogs End cafe in the courtyard is very special. It is much less expensive with entrees about $15 and casual. It makes you wonder why we all don't have courtyards in our homes. The grilled cheese sandwich is to die for as are the truffled cheese fries. The portions are huge. The bread is outstanding although, a bit too salty.

The pool is a nice size and great for laps or just relaxing. My gripe was that no one assisted us with set-up or removed dirty towels or glasses as people left or finished using them. We could not find anyone to help us. The staff were either chatting with each other or doing yard work. A hotel like this should set up and shift the umbrellas as the sun changes. They should also bring around a little treat in the morning and afternoon as many top hotels do. The pool area just seemed an after thought which was disappointing.

That said, we loved the place and highly recommend it. We have not found any other place that is this special and so close to The City. Thank you for a wonderful time and we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Request all blankets to be washed before you arrive. If you need down pillows, be sure to request t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to the Glenmere for my birthday and I had a fabulous time! The spa is top-notch and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. My treatments at the spa included a mani-pedi and chardonnay body drench. It was very relaxing and the staff waits on you hand and foot, offering snacks and beverages. After my treatments, I ate my lunch from the Frog's End Tavern in a very nice dining room facing the garden area. The food was delicious as well; very fresh ingredients. Overall, it was a very relaxing treat I'd recommend to anybody who is looking for top-notch spa services in the area. It's a great gift for a loved one, as it was a gift from my boyfriend for my 22nd birthday this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at the Supper Club and Frogs End Tavern several times and always enjoyed our experience at this meticulously kept treasure in our area. I dreamed of getting the chance to run away to the spa one day. I finally pulled the trigger and spent the day there with a girlfriend getting two services a piece. From the moment we arrived, I knew we were in for a great day. Gina greeted us warmly and professionally and left no stone unturned in making sure our day was simply perfect. From soup to nuts, we got the full on princess treatment beyond any expectation we may have had. Both the services I received were incredible and facility was stunning. Blossom did my massage and asked very pointed questions and paid close attention to my areas of pain. I am pain free a full day later. Simply fantastic. Linda gave me a gorgeous facial and when I saw people later in the evening they all commented that I looked so great. Someone joked and said "botox!" I said "No, Linda!" If there was one little criticism, it would be the locker room was tiny. If there are more than two ladies in there, it would be too tight. That would be my only one very, very small critique in an otherwise spectacular experience. The combination of outstanding customer service, a flawless setting, terrific services and delicious food, I will be go back again without question. I have gone to spas all over the country. Glenmere Spa ranks right at the top. Take a luxury field trip for grown-ups right here in Orange County.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room. We were day guests at the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came back to share our wonderful experience with good friends. This time we added a spa treatment to our itinerary. Unfortunately, I made more than one mistake regarding our reservations. Admittedly, it made things quite inconvenient for the staff and owners and I felt terrible about my blunders.
When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and treated ... What can I say other than "royally".
Then entire staff made our stay absolutely beautiful, unrushed, and relaxing.
While there I was able to schedule a massage at the spa. Again, excellent setting; peaceful, professional, comfortable. The massage room was everything I had hoped for, and the therapist was knowledgeable and compassionate...the perfect combination for healing.
Alan, (one of the owners) was so gracious to us and our guests, our friends will be scheduling their own stay next month.
We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our first trip to the Glenmere this weekend was nothing short of perfection. The entire staff goes so far above and beyond at every single point of customer experience that I truly felt like we were a king & queen staying at our castle. In paricular, Gina and Jason at the spa and Charles at the front door. They were all such wonderful people who truly care about each and every single guest at the Glenmere. Thank you to all of the wonderful people at the Glenmere who made our engagement weekend simply amazing! You guys are the best! I can't wait to come back to celebrate our anniversary or any other special occassion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent two weeks at Glenmere in January. The mansion is exquisitely beautiful. Every detail is thought of. Charles, Eltra, Cathy, Christy and Dan were efficient, and so kind and caring. I adored my room, the Vanderbilt suite. I settled in as comfortably as if it were my home. I loved how soft the sheets and towels are.
The only issue I had was that the headboard is connected to the same wall as the housekeeping-utility closet. Each time housekeeping needed supplies, the sound of them opening and closing the door, and rummaging through the closet, disturbed my rest.
Other than that, it is so far beyond anything I've ever stayed in, it is unbelievable.
On the morning my friend and I left, Dan boxed up a piece of chocolate cake for the road, and tied a lovely blue ribbon around it. It made a lasting impression of both his kindness and Glenmere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmere Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmere Mansion

Address: 634 Pine Hill Road, Chester, NY 10918
Location: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenmere Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmere Mansion is a Relais & Chatueax, 18-room luxury boutique hotel on 150 Hudson Valley acres overlooking Glenmere Lake. The Gilded Age mansion, circa 1911, underwent a 3 year renovation, opening Jan. 2010. Acres of beautiful gardens, heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis, bocce and croquet courts, and 2 restaurants on site. Spa opens summer 2011. Romantic getaway, (children over 16). Voted "Top Ten Small Boutique Hotel in the World" by Gayot Hotel Guide 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Glenmere Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmere Mansion Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmere Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.