We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryon Inn

Tryon Inn
Main Road, Cherry Valley, NY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly, informed service, and the food was very good, especially the sweet potato soup, which came as a prelude to the entree. I also tasted my husband's salad, the other choice, and it was excellent, with very fresh greens, no tasteless iceberg lettuce, and a piquant dressing. We ordered the chicken francaise. We were served two large chicken breast halves over rice, which tasted good, although it was not distinctively flavored. The bread was a little on the stale side, but the herb butter was a nice touch. Our waitress was very nice, and willing to give us separate checks, although we were a party of three couples. The best surprise was the tab, which was very inexpensive for a satisfactory meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schroon Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our meals at this restaurant in Cherry Valley. Next time we will try to leave room for dessert!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK food, not much selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

At our hotel, we saw a menu from theTryon, and it looked both good and extensive. When we arrived, the menu was much pared down (and much more expensive). Some impressions from around our table:the roasted vegetables were good, the French onion soup OK but nothing special, the salmon was well-prepared, my chicken Francaise had a very bland sauce, the eggplant was a big hit with my mother. My father had trouble finding something that appealed to him from the limited menu. The restaurant was so cold we had to ask them to turn the heat up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been to the Tryon one more than one occasion and they never fail to impress. We also caught the comedy show they had and had such a wonderful time...The food is excellent everything is very reasonable priced..and the staff and owners are so friendly... They make you feel very welcome and comfortable... We will always pick the Tryon when we eat in Cherry Valley...What a gem for Cherry Valley...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames New Tork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The meals are competitvely priced, delivered hot and delicious. The patio on a summer evening is a great place to have beverage and something to eat

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryon Inn also viewed

 

Been to Tryon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.