We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - SLOW Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
2015 Walden Avenue, Cheektowaga, NY 14225
716-681-2351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 102 Restaurants in Cheektowaga
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
LeeP1
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food - SLOW Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Maybe corporate offices are aware of the problems here as they do not have this location listed on their website and they have been in town for a few months - hmmn. Anyway, we went around 3:30 pm on a weekday hoping to avoid the lunch and dinner hour rushes. We did - it was not busy- we were seated right away. We waited a bit for someone to take our drink orders and they came promptly, but then nobody came for 15 minutes. Finally, the waitress came , we ordered an appetizer and steak sandwiches. They must have had to slaughter a cow, because we waited another 35 minutes for the meal and by the way, she forgot the appetizer. However my braised barbecue beef was very, very tender. Again another miscue, half the sandwich had barbecue sauce and the other half didn't. I didn't realize until I was half way thru the second half that it was missing. The waitress did a good service recovery by offering us a free dessert. So we decided to share the fresh berry and grilled lemon pound cake. It would have tasted better if the cook didn't totally burn the pound cake. It may be a while before we go back - they need better, attentive or even more trained servers and a cook(s) that knows how to serve more than 4 tables. Corporate - listen up - there are other restaurants that will get our business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Uninspired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was my first and last time dining at Longhorn. While the atmosphere was pleasant, the food left a lot to be desired. Everything was bland & very salty, and a bit overpriced. I can get a better meal at Texas Roadhouse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best Steak & Service in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It has been quite awhile since we have had a good steak in the Western New York area. Decided to try Longhorn out for a belated Father's Day dinner for my father-in-law. The staff was very friendly and attentive (Nathan & Mike). The decor was wonderfully tasteful. But most of all, the food was outstanding. Absolutely NOTHING to complain about. Prime rib, steamed asparagus & mashed potatoes; filet, rice, shrimp & green beans; strip, corn & Caesar salad; plus the warm multi-grain bread so fresh. This is definitely our new go-to restaurant for good steak and special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaneateles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn and their desk clerk recommended the Longhorn for a good steak and beer. Right on the money - not fancy, great food and lots of it. You could tell that most of the people in the dining and bar area were regulars and the wait staff was friendly and very helpful. We were lucky enough to have Dillon as a waiter and he was wonderful. Thanks for a great dinner :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I don't eat much red meat, but decided to treat ourselves. When first walking into the restaurant, you would never know it was a former Border's bookstore. The walls are a warm orange-brown tone with all kinds of western memorabilia and pictures, but not overdone. The room is spacious and nice since you aren't sitting on top of other patrons.

Service was excellent. Our server made sure everything was good, but was not annoying. She knew just when to check in with us but didn't linger.

The menu includes sandwiches and chicken. Dinner entrees come with a choice of two kinds of salads, bread and a unique choice of sides. The salads are quite large and fresh. We didn't try any appetizers because we wanted dessert.

We both ordered our steaks medium and they were cooked just right. I ordered a sirloin steak and a baked sweet potato with cinnamon and melted butter. It was delicious. My husband had a regular baked potato that was quite large, but very good along with his ribeye steak.

For dessert, I ordered the grilled pound cake with strawberries and blueberries. The pound cake was a little dry, but still very good. My husband ordered the key lime pie with graham cracker crust. The crust was moist and delicious.

Our total bill, with tea and coffee and tip came to $61.00. A bit pricey for two people, but it was a treat for us and the service was so good.

There are a some downsides: The restaurant does not take reservations but you can call an hour ahead and tell them you are coming. There are only two large tables for parties of 5 or more. The rest of the restaurant is all booths. The entrance is quite congested which does not allow for a smooth flow in or out of the restaurant especially at peak hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.