We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, relaxing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6642 East Lake Road, Chautauqua, NY 14757 (Formerly Great Tree Inn and Stables)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Orchard Park, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful, relaxing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I got home today after a 2-night stay at the Great Tree Inn and can't wait to go back! We went for the weekend because of going to see the group "Straight No Chasers" at the Chautauqua Institute and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Mark and Sheila have owned this property since the fall of 2012 so they are "newbies" to running a B&B, but you'd never know it - they are extremely friendly and very welcoming. They make you feel like "their house is your house" - from having drinks and snacks available 24/7 to saying "just ring the bell if you need anything". We stayed in the Ivy Room and it was perfect - from the step to help getting into the king size bed to an air conditioner the wasn't noisy. Mark fixed two delicious breakfasts and there were scones and blueberry muffins out early to enjoy with your morning cup of coffee.

The property is secluded, peaceful and fun to walk around. They have two beautiful horses (not for riding), two young pigs that are hilarious to watch, two goats and about 30 chickens. They also have a dog name, Cletis (sp?), who is a ball of fire.

You will not be disappointed when you stay here and you will want to make a return reservation, I promise!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked inviting. The Ivy Room is the largest but I don't think you would be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    6
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister and I went to The Great Tree Inn for a 4 day long"girls' weekend" The Inn is lovely. It is well furnished and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The linens are of very good quality. There are a lot of very nice touches; a candy jar in the room, bottled water, coffee and snacks were available round the clock. Mark and Sheila are open, friendly hosts who made sure we had everything we needed and wanted. They had lots of brochures about the area and made several great suggestions for dining and sight seeing. The setting is quiet and peaceful. I will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundsville, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We are somewhat experienced travelers; however, this was our first vacation at a Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Victorian Violet Room and it was nicely decorated and had its own bathroom (nice quality towels and bath robes). The Inn was very clean and well decorated throughout. There were a few special touches included to make the stay a little nicer; bottle water, fresh cookies, snacks, yogurt, and a Keurig machine for tea or coffee. As a hobby runner, imagine my surprise to learn that the Inn is adjacent to the Chautauqua Rails to Trails for miles of running, hiking or biking pleasure. We were also pleased with a local Italian Restaurant that delivered an excellent dinner at a reasonable price to the Inn. The owners Mark and Shelia were genuinely interested in us enjoying our stay. We plan to visit again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent three days/two nights at the Great Tree Inn immediately after our wedding weekend. We could not have asked for a better experience. Mark and Sheila were incredibly wonderful hosts. The property is beautiful, secluded, quiet, well furnished. We enjoyed sitting by one of the several fire places and listening to the rain and enjoying a cup of tea and a piece of homemade pie. The rooms are adorable and quaint. The food was delicious. And Mark and Sheila were able to recommend good attractions in the surrounding towns, including a number of wineries, museums, and restaurants. We also drove into the Chautauqua Institution to explore the grounds for a few hours. A great place for a get-away. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We got the Ivy Suite. Very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is fantastic, made even more so by the wonderful setting, food and owners Mark and Sheila. They were so accommodating, and nice and we enjoyed great wine and great conversation well into the night. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating the property and love the rooms. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, don't miss this one!

Room Tip: They are all wondering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Great Tree Inn Easter Weekend 2013 for our wedding ceremony and a "kick off" to our honeymoon. Mark and Sheila not only made all of the arrangements for a beautiful ceremony, they also took photos for us. They made our simple elopement very, very special!

Mark refers to himself as a "foodie", but this is such an understatement. His dinners are among the best food I've eaten - so fresh and delicious! No reheated frozen food here. He even whipped up an unplanned dinner for us when we found most restaurants in the area closed for the holiday. Sheila provides two different dessert options and what seems to be a never empty plate of delicious cookies.

We very much enjoyed conversation with Mark and Sheila and truly appreciated the availability of board games by the fire in the evening.

The Great Tree Inn is the perfect place to unplug and relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending New Years Eve with two other couple who were friends of ours at this B&B. The Inn was lovely, decorated so nicely. Our rooms were cozy & warm with good mattresses and nice fluffy pillows. Nice TV's with satellite service in our rooms and internet access was a nice plus too.
We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast personally made by Mark & Sheila, the propriotors. They were very accomodating throughout our stay, coffee, water, snacks were set up and offered repeatedly. Refrigerators are available for your use also.
There were two other couples with snow mobiles staying at the same time. The Inn property is located on the Rails to Trails system and they told us how much they enjoyed their stay at the Inn for their sport. This would also be great for biking in summer.
The Inn is easy to find and not far from many wineries, antique shops, a large grocery store and of course Chautaqua Lake .
I think this Inn will do well , Mark & Sheila are friendly and outgoing, they express a desire to please guests and provide comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6642 East Lake Road, Chautauqua, NY 14757 (Formerly Great Tree Inn and Stables)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located to many of the region's attractions, including the Chautauqua Institution,Chautauqua Lake, wineries, restaurants as well as abundant outdoor recreation. The Inn is adjacent to the Rails to Trails for hiking and snowmobiling. The Inn is a converted 1820 farmhouse guarded by an ancient black locust tree. The rooms all feature flat-panel TVs, fireplaces, full private baths and air conditioning whilst retaining old world ambiance with elegant country furnishings and decor. Guests enthuse about the hospitality, breakfasts and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Tree Inn And Stables Hotel Chautauqua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.