We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brae Loch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cazenovia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Loch Inn
Save
You added Brae Loch Inn to your Saves list
5 Albany Street, Cazenovia, NY 13035   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glen Rock
1 review
“The best place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Brae Loch Inn many times over the years and have never been disappointed. We always bring our dalmatian Maddy with us (she loves it too). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is convenient. The people are friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about the Brae Loch Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    49
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
37
82
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After driving by for many years, our family of three stayed one cold, snowy night before a visit to Syracuse Univ. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable though there was some cracking/peeling pain on the ceiling of the window seat. The atmosphere was pure Scotland, with lots of wonderful artwork and knicknacks. We had an enjoyable dinner downstairs in the restaurant and breakfast was a continental buffet. The staff person at checkin was new and I got a sense we weren't given all the information we could use to best enjoy the Inn. Checkout was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had to come Upstate NY for business so my husband & I had dinner at the Brae Loch.
The Chef recommended their Prime Rib, Hubby had the "KING" cut and was very glad the chef suggested it.

Cooked to pefection and it tasted great. He is picky when it comes to Prime Rib at a resturant and it got his seal of approval.

Norwegian Salmon was suggested by our server and I was glad I ordered it.

Bonfire Shrimp and Fried Calamari appetizers were also a great selection and we shared a Wedge Salad. Lots of food so of couse some leftovers came home with us the next day.

I would recommend the Brae Loch's resturant if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the complementary snifter of scotch upon check-in to the warm and genuine conversation from Jim, the owner, making sure your stay was enjoyable upon departure, the Brae Loch Inn is a wonderful experience from entrance to exit. The 1805 era inn is a sensory overload to we patrons who marvel at old woodwork, antiques, furniture, paintings, pictures, etc... The rooms are spacious and romantic, with ours featuring a fireplace adding a charming warm ambiance. Oh, and the food - outstanding! Watching the cooks prepare our meal from our table was quite entertaining. After dinner leisure time in the charm of the downstairs, with modern Scottish music, darts, billiards, board games, big screen TV - you choose, adding to the experience. Cazenovia is a charming village, with the Brae Lock Inn its crown jewel. For us this was certainly "the full effect!"

Room Tip: Check out your room on-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a really impressive place with a superb kitchen that does all the right things! This is a family affair that cares about the quality of the product. I first visited the Brae Loch while I was a student at Syracuse University in the 1960s. It's aged well over time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee center, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Phenomenal food! The food was delicious and the portions were very large. The big comfortable bed made for the best night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel. The cozy, quiet atmosphere and friendly staff made our stay so enjoyable. It was an awesome overnight get away that really let us escape from the real world and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Both feeling stressed and hadn't been away since October (Mom lives w/us) my husband and I got away for an overnight and returned to the Brae Loch Inn. We felt so warmly welcomed and appreciated. They know there are many other places to stay, and truly value your patronage. We stayed in our favorite room, Mary Queen of Scots (#12), with the lovely window seat and wood-burning fireplaceand couldn't have been happier ... except if we'd had another couple of nights! The food is always well prepared and delicious, and the cozy bar area and several different rooms/nooks make for a very private feel. Smiles abound, and we'll continue to think of the Brae Loch as our home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brae Loch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Loch Inn

Address: 5 Albany Street, Cazenovia, NY 13035
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Brae Loch Hotel Cazenovia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brae Loch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.