We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro charm, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincklaen House Restaurant

Lincklaen House Restaurant
79 Albany St, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1216
315-655-3462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Cazenovia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
NY-NJ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Retro charm, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We ate in the Seven Steps Down tavern, in the basement below the regular restaurant (within this charming old hotel). It was fairly empty (early afternoon on a Sunday), we didn't expect much, but were very pleasantly surprised! There is a dark and funky old bar with deeply carved wood on every surface, but next door is a lovely, warmly lit dining room. We started with complimentary popovers with lemon butter (delicious), then shared a cheddar burger with guacamole (juicy enough for my husband's approval) and a wonderful cheese steak accompanied by the most perfect melon you could ever want (both cantaloupe and honeydew) plus other fruits. The blueberry ravioli dessert (pretty, but overly sweet) was only a minor letdown. Service was very professional too. What a find!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining and wonderful historic inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Love this place! Be it Sunday brunch, lunch al fresco, or a cozy dinner in the pub, this place is a gem run by the most wonderful couple. The rooms are great and it is a great getaway spot. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Today it was by Birthday lunch and the 4th parade was in an hour. We ate at the bar. The draft beers, the popovers the blackend haddock sandwich and the turkey reuben were just perfect. The coleslaw was great and the fruit was fresh. The locals we chatted with were nice and the old art work and "Graffit" walls are awesome.
Thanks to the Bar tender as she was and is always great.
A perfect old place that never changes, That's good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, NY
1 review
“Not worth the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed one night in the King suite while visitng for a family get together. Front office staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room however, big and cozy as it was...the curtain next to the bed, would not shut. We eventually got it to stay together by hooking it with something. No soap in lavatory. The mattress was SO HARD, neither of us slept all night. Breakfast (included in the price of the room) was cereal, bagels & muffins. We went to McDonald's. This is not a place we would stay again. The place was okay, but did not meet our needs. Dirty rugs, dogs allowed in rooms.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“wedding weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a wedding weekend at the Licklaen. We ate all our meals there but stayed elsewhere. Our kids stayed there. The food quality was very inconsistent, some dishes were quite good, others were terrible[eg. the sush]. While the brunch was qute good, the experience was dampened by watcing the server scoop fresh fruit into the bowl with his bare ungloved hands. Also the rooms varied greatly in comfort & size. Make sure you know what you are getting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincklaen House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lincklaen House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincklaen House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.