We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friar Suck-Do Not Go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center
4858 Route 32, Catskill, NY 12414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Catskill
Long Island, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Friar Suck-Do Not Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

okay, first when we got there i was so psyced because my parents told me that this place was really creppy and has a lot of history so i was really interested. when we were driving around to look for our room we fell in a ditch and our car got soaked in mud and dirt and snow. when i walked in, i couldn't believe how old everything looked. the lanterns were covered in mold,dust even spiders. also in the lobby, the couches were practically in shreds because of their age. when they gave us our room key, by the way it really is an old fashioned key not a plastic card, we couldnt find our room. they told us to go one way and then another person told us another way. when we finally got into the room, it smelt of mold and just a weird smell. the beds didnt even have clean sheets on them;they were stained. and the bathroom shower curtain had mold and dust on it. apparently, this is how it is in all the rooms. the food however was not the worst. the first night we stayed, it was pretty delicious. the next few days it sucked. the dinner was cheap and the service was rediculous. the best part was that Windom was a half hour away so we went skiing for 2 days. overall, i ask you to please not stay here, you're just wasting your money and your time. believe me. the room was incredibly small, and the bathroom, forget it. i do not recomend this "hotel"

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    13
    19
    64
See reviews for
18
23
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Dont stay here ever. the place was way to outdated, but thats the best part!!! its plain creepy and eery, reminded me of the shining!! and how can they call themselves a resort and spa? this is faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar from bein a spa.
when we checked in, the place seemed deserted and awful and they put us up in a room right back at the very end of the hotel. if we would have a stayed for 2 weeks, we stil would not have known where the room was!!! the rooms were sooooooooo icey cold, even with the heater on. such a joke. and forget about the food.... it was theee worst ever.
im sorry, but this "hotel" is the worst i have ever stayed in. i coudnt wait to get home. the place gave us the creeps and everytime i think of friar tuck, i get a horrible feeling and the shivers.
you've been warned..............

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Spent a weekend there and saw none of the problems mentioned in other reviews. While some of the facilities are showing their age around the edges they were just fine. Most of all the staff was most cooperative!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This place is dirty, outdated and just CREEPY!! I stayed at the Friar Tuck inn several times (as a kid, about 20 years ago). My family LOVED it there... So, i was very excited to find out my friends booked us there for a weekend get away... HOWEVER, this place has not been updated in a long time (possibly not since i was there in the late 80's.!!). First, we could barely find our rooms. We had to down a broken uneven walkway (which did not appear to be "open", but our only option... Then, we walk down slippery tiled floors with weeds growing out of the cracks and bricks.... Once we got into the room, it got worse... the room smelled like an old stale ashtray... the furniture looked like it was falling apart (with rust everywhere)... the bathroom had hair all over it... the beds were OLD and did not look comfortable at all.... the room just had a very creepy feeling and we felt like we were the only ones there stuck in the way back end of the place... but, since there were no other hotels with availability, we thought we were stuck... thankfully, we got a room down the road at another hotel and we checked out immediately... seriously, i will have nightmares about that place... and it's a shame, since it used to be such a great resort!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed with friends for a few nights. This place is dirty, empty, and potentially dangerous. The use of words "spa" and "resort" are a joke. The pool and jacuzzi have so much scum on the tile that you would think it is black tile (it isn't) - the shower water is so hot that it is dangerous. The steam room could actually kill you becuase it has no regulation on the heat. The worst flea bag motel is better than this dump.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We took one look around and knew that we were not going to even stay there overnight, never mind for a week.

It was disgusting! The closer we looked, the more we found...............

If you are thinking of visiting the area, go to the Quality Inn near the entance to 87. We found it on what would have been a long drive home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The inn looks old, it feels old. People there are really cool, and willing to make you feel good , but we are talking about the hotel. The flys are driving me crazy, in the dinner room, pool area, every where. The inside pool has so mush clorine that after 5 minutes in the pool I can't keep my eyes open for more then 2 seconds. Game room is really bad, games there are from the 90s nintendo games. The latest game there from all of them is mortal kombat 2, because tekken 2 is broken. The room is dusty, brown, and smells. Basketball? Yea In the parking lot, ping pong table in the out side, with all the bugs. Their food is good, Rooms some are good, but old looking.
I believe that this hotel will be good for 50-70 year old people who don't like party, or want to be in bed by 8:30pm because everything closes at 9pm so for young people like
me, this is not fun, is just a waist of time. The owners should invest more money on re-doing everything, because as soon as you walk in you will fall In one of this two categories
1 that this hotel is gonna make you feel old
2 you are in a scary movie.
And at night after 9pm you can't hear anything, and out side the road does not have lights so if you need to run, they could hunt you easy.... There is no where to go

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center

Address: 4858 Route 32, Catskill, NY 12414
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Friar Tuck Resort, Hotel Catskill
Friar Tuck Hotel
Friar Tuck Catskill
Friar Tuck Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center to your Saves list