We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...awful...awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center
Save
You added Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center to your Saves list
4858 Route 32, Catskill, NY 12414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Catskill
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awful...awful...awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed with friends for a few nights. This place is dirty, empty, and potentially dangerous. The use of words "spa" and "resort" are a joke. The pool and jacuzzi have so much scum on the tile that you would think it is black tile (it isn't) - the shower water is so hot that it is dangerous. The steam room could actually kill you becuase it has no regulation on the heat. The worst flea bag motel is better than this dump.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    13
    19
    64
See reviews for
18
23
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We took one look around and knew that we were not going to even stay there overnight, never mind for a week.

It was disgusting! The closer we looked, the more we found...............

If you are thinking of visiting the area, go to the Quality Inn near the entance to 87. We found it on what would have been a long drive home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The inn looks old, it feels old. People there are really cool, and willing to make you feel good , but we are talking about the hotel. The flys are driving me crazy, in the dinner room, pool area, every where. The inside pool has so mush clorine that after 5 minutes in the pool I can't keep my eyes open for more then 2 seconds. Game room is really bad, games there are from the 90s nintendo games. The latest game there from all of them is mortal kombat 2, because tekken 2 is broken. The room is dusty, brown, and smells. Basketball? Yea In the parking lot, ping pong table in the out side, with all the bugs. Their food is good, Rooms some are good, but old looking.
I believe that this hotel will be good for 50-70 year old people who don't like party, or want to be in bed by 8:30pm because everything closes at 9pm so for young people like
me, this is not fun, is just a waist of time. The owners should invest more money on re-doing everything, because as soon as you walk in you will fall In one of this two categories
1 that this hotel is gonna make you feel old
2 you are in a scary movie.
And at night after 9pm you can't hear anything, and out side the road does not have lights so if you need to run, they could hunt you easy.... There is no where to go

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Bergs43 correctly describe this place as the Twilight Zone. That's exactly what my partner and I thought about this place as soon as we set our foot on the building, I think back in 2003-4. Initially we were HORRIFIED with old run down buildings, hallways, rooms, and everything else about this place. The buildings were so big and spacious, and there were many large ball rooms, and floors that seemed abondoned. It was really SPOOKY! All this, together with the tacky medival docor occasionally lost me in the space, it felt like I was taken back to the 1950s. Also, like Bergs43 said, many other guests looked very odd. We were wondering where those people were from as they looked so comfortable and it was as if they lived there full-time.

Anyways, we had no idea why we ended up in a place like that, and seriously discussed getting out of there immediately. BUT, after we started walking around the property, we started to appreciate the spookiness and oddness of this place. There is no other place like this. And, to our surprise, the food was delicious! Even considering the fact that we were expecting the worst food to match the rest of the hotel, we thought the food was actually really good even to our expensive Manhattan standard. The food made all the difference and made our stay memorable in many strange ways.

Don't go there if you are looking for a romantic getaways or luxury spa treatment (the pool and spa were closed, it sounds like they have been closed for many years). Go there if you are looking for some odd experience that's completely different from other boring or bland B&Bs in the area. Have little or no expectations.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The pictures look great but too bad they have been taken years ago when they actually maintained the place. Booked a time share unit and we were asked at check in to come back a different week because they had a large group come in and would not allow use of the pool or spa. Room was clean but in need of repairs. Owners are taking all the money out and don't maintain the place. Walked through the place and found food containers that have been left out for a long time. Nasty place. Too bad they are more concerned about money and not their customers. Close the door would be the best bet for them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I woke up the first morning with an upper respiratory infection. Probably from Dust Mites or Bed Bugs! The walls were dirty, the couch was probably infested with bugs because I itched every time I sat on it. The room smelled like a 20 year old dirty ash tray. It was distgusting. In the restaurant, there were bugs flying around our table the whole time.

They advertise that they have a spa but its never open. It was only open on the weekends. The outdoor pool was closed as was the indoor hot tub.



The only good thing about the resort is that it is in the beautiful mountains.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This has possibly been the worst place to stay ever. My husband and I were very excited to book this place as our honeymoon. We did so due to the spa and other resort amenities. To start off with, 3 days before we left we were informed by the resort that the Pools and Restaurant would be closed Thurs-Sun due to a large group coming in for a convention. We were angry but could accept it since the SPA would be OPEN. When we arrived, we were informed that it would be closed starting Wed. They also informed us that the whole resort would be closed starting Wed including the SPA and all other amenities. We arrived at our room to find it open and still dirty. After clearing that situation up we found that the wireless router was down for our hall. We tried multiple times to get them to fix this. To get internet signal we needed to sit in our closet. They informed us that we could come to the main lounge for internet. Since we are an RCI timeshare member we did not feel like going to the main area for internet. When we called Mon morning to try and book for the SPA before it closed for the group. We were informed it was closed till Thurs to prepare for the big group. Our honeymoon has been completely ruined by these people and we are leaving Tues. We have only been here 2 nights and a Day and this place is a nightmare from hell. I advise you and plead that you look else where. Do not support this place. On top of the problems we have run into the grounds are poorly kept and there are potholes all over the road. The staff is very unhelpful. They have lied to us about when the resort would be closed and they lied to us about "close by" attractions. Their attractions are normally an hour or more away. If you want a honeymoon from hell enjoy. If you are smart you will learn from us and go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center

Address: 4858 Route 32, Catskill, NY 12414
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 525
Also Known As:
Friar Tuck Resort, Hotel Catskill
Friar Tuck Hotel
Friar Tuck Catskill
Friar Tuck Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tuck Resort, Spa and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.