We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Kaaterskill!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kaaterskill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kaaterskill
Save
You added The Kaaterskill to your Saves list
424 High Falls ext., Catskill, NY 12414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Greenville, New York
1 review
“I love the Kaaterskill!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent this weekend at the Inn at a brithday party. We found the grounds wonderful ~ the animals are enchanting. I grew up in Greene County but never had the opportunity to see so many animals enjoy such a beautiful life and such a wonderful environment. Our first night was rainy and cloudy and foggy which gave a beautiful mystic to the property. We woke up to brilliant sunshine, a gorgeous view of the fantastic mountains and the beautiful animals enjoying their freedom. Our room was perfect ~ so elegent, clean, and completely ready for wine, cheese, and a soak in the hot tub. But, my favorite reviews come with waking up to the wake up call of the roosters ~ a very special memory of my childhood ~ AND the moment I laid my head down on Friday evening, I was sent back so many years to the smell of sheets that made you feel loved and cared for ~ thanks to my Mom ~ and to the staff at the Inn.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Great Tripadvisor reviews, a 2014 Certificate of Excellence and an attractive website led us to book a stay at The Kaaterskill in Catskill, New York. The property was described as a luxury property and we agreed to the $225 per night price.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a somewhat disheveled onsite manager in his socks who showed us how to get to our room across a dirt and gravel path. Once in the room, he attempted to get a light working by the head of the bed but finally settled on moving a lamp to the foot of the bed. He then explained that the thermostat wasn’t working appropriately in the room and brought in a space heater for heat. During the night the heater did come to life so we turned off the space heater and attempted with limited success to lower the setting on the thermostat as the room was getting too hot. The beds were virtually resting on the floor, considerably lower than beds in any type of accommodation we have visited. We attempted to close the blinds (verticals) but many of the parts of the blinds were broken and missing so that wouldn't work. We tried to close off the windows using the drapes. However, the draperies that were there didn't cover the windows, so we used some binder clips we had with us to hold the drapes closed. The bathroom sink faucets were very loose and moved around as we tried to operate them. In all of our travel experiences, routine maintenance is always done to the rooms before the guests arrive (unforeseen problems excepted), not after the guest is in the room. In general, our accommodations were worn, tired and in poor repair. Luxury was nowhere to be found. We were anxious to leave in the morning.
It was hard to know whether to give The Kaaterskill one or two stars. We suggest others do a better job of researching this establishment than we did.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekaaterskill, Venue Coordinator / Events Manager at The Kaaterskill, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of The Kaaterskill. We are extremely disheartened to hear that you found your stay with us sub par, and for that we express our deepest sympathies. As per previous discussions, we have fully refunded your stay. Our guests feedback is very important to us, and immediate actions have been made based on your expressions of discontent with our accommodations. The stay you experienced is in fact not typical as many other guests can confirm, so again, we are so very sorry for your poor experience with us here on your recent stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and bringing these items to our attention in such a timely manner. We wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding, it was absolutely beautiful! The scenery, the animals, and the rooms were just all stunning!! I just couldn't get enough of it. Hope to come back here for my own wedding one day!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I were recently married at the Kaaterskill and we couldn't be happier we chose this venue. All of our guests were amazed by how jaw-dropping gorgeous the property is. The mountains, the pond, the woods, the animals, everything was beautiful.

We invited our immediate family and bridal party to stay with us at the Inn. We had a great time. The Inn is spacious and beautifully decorated. We took advantage of the amenities: big kitchen for the rehearsal dinner and after wedding brunch, billiards room for unlimited entertainment and the flat screen TVs, working fireplace and jacuzzi tubs in each room.
It started to rain during the day of the wedding so we had to take most of our photos inside the inn. The decor and backdrops made our photos look amazing!

The grounds keeper was quick and helpful when we needed help with the air conditioner in one of the rooms. The drive was only 2 hours away and there is lots to do nearby.

We loved the Kaaterskill and our families and I are already talking about when we can return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My Husband & I recently hosted our wedding weekend at The Kaaterskill and it could not have been more perfect! The inn was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Everyone who stayed within had a comfortable stay. It was great being able to take over the property for the whole weekend. The inn provided plenty of space for completing all wedding tasks the day before & enough room for a casual rehearsal dinner. The eclectic collection of households items allowed for fun/awesome wedding pictures. The outdoor beauty of the location really takes the cake! Luckily we had beautiful weather and our wedding pictures couldn't have turned out more beautiful! All of our guests loved the location & all of the children had lots of fun with the animals on the premise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This farm is beautiful. It has a magic pig named Victoria. My wife and I have visited here and liked it so much we decided to get married there too. It's a bit hidden but I think that's what we liked about it. A good place to get away from the city. We took the train up to Hudson, and rented a car from Enterprise. It was very easy...Enterprise comes and gets you at the station. The Kaaterskill is very low key and let's you be alone on their property. They have acres of woods and lots of animals to see.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We visited the Kaaterskill during the winter. I can imagine how incredible it is during the other seasons when the weather is better considering we had a great time with the snow. The highlight is the serene quiet calmness that is about. It's like it's just you and whoever you are with. The property is quaint, and I love the farm animals and various trails. The décor is superb -- especially the artwork. We stayed in the Cole Suite. Although it didn't have a sky light like the top floor suites do, you were able to go out onto your patio at night and look up at all the stars! They provide firewood for your own fireplace, and you also can enjoy a Jacuzzi tub. If you need assistance you can call the manager of the property. Otherwise, there is no one there. The only thing I wish they had had was breakfast. Otherwise we had an amazing time.

Room Tip: The upper floors have sky lights, but the bottom floors allow you to walk out onto the patio and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kaaterskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kaaterskill

Address: 424 High Falls ext., Catskill, NY 12414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and magical farm estate at the foot of the Catskills. 6 luxurious suites each include stone fireplace, jacuzzi and panoramic mountain views. Wander the private 32 acre grounds surrounded by the Kaaterskiill Creek with pond, stables, barn and skatehouse and see the wildlife and farm animals. Close to Hunter, Saugerties, Woodstock, Catskill and Hudson. Wireless internet and optional meal service available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kaaterskill Hotel Catskill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kaaterskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.