We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Conference Center

Quality Inn & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quality Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Conference Center
704 Rt. 23-B, Catskill, NY 12414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Catskill
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here because numerous other hotels south of here were sold out and we were SO tired that any bed would have been welcome. The lobby and other public areas were very run-down and dirty, so we were apprehensive about what our room would be like. While it was stuffy and spartan it did appear to be clean. I left the window open all night to get some fresh air. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the shower worked well, so everything else was gravy.

We went into the "restaurant" to try and get something to eat (it was also very run down and dirty) and wound up sitting at the bar so that we could get service. It quickly became obvious that the girl behind the bar had no experience in that capacity, and seemed to have been pressed into service at the last minute. We actually felt bad for her, as she was trying to do a job she was untrained for. The menu selections were extremely limited but the food was acceptable. I had to leave after one or two bites because the stuffy, smelly atmosphere brought on a migraine headache. My husband stayed to finish his meal and overtipped the bartender out of pity.

To call this place "Quality" anything is a crime, and the chain that owns it should be ashamed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    12
    38
See reviews for
9
13
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
warwick ny
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The place needs maintenance; rooms are barely clean. It is way overpriced; no breakfast. I would never book it again. Staff was OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here because it was the only place that was close to Windham Mountain that was available for a group of 10 of us. We competed in the Warrior Dash and needed a place to stay that night. It is about 30 minutes from the mountain, so it wasn't very close, but it was the closest place that had availability. We were able to get 4 rooms and paid a rate of $139 for a room w/two full beds. This hotel was not a hotel that should have been $139....it is more of a $60-$80 a night type of hotel (and that is being generous). The hotel is old and basic. We checked in and they were able to put us all on the same floor, which was nice because the hotel was sold out. The room we stayed in was on the second floor and there is no elevator. There is also no security, so anyone can enter the hotel from outside. The stairway had a wall that had a big hole in it. The stairway and hallway was not clean either...the rugs were worn and stained. Our room was your standard, 2 double beds, nightstand, bathroom, tv armoire, etc (very basic). The room had a very strange smell and the window was open...smelled a bit like baby aspirin or like it had been shut up for months. The beds were small for two people and not very comfortable. TV was your standard TV...nothing special...nothing wrong with it. The bathroom was fine....overall, it seemed clean, but needed some updates. The room itself probably needed new carpets. My friends' room had no handle on the toilet, so they complained to the front desk and they fixed it right away, so that's a positive.

The hotel advertised a restaurant and bar, but when we went down to eat, they said the restaurant was closed (on a Saturday???) and would be open only for karaoke and drinks at 8 pm...but no kids were allowed since it was a bar. We ordered a pizza instead from a local restaurant and had it delivered. There were no other restaurants that were close enough to walk to. The front desk staff were not very helpful, as one had told us that the restaurant would open at 8 when another staff member said that it was only karaoke. They did offer us some menus for the pizza place.

There was a pool that looked nice but we didn't use it. My niece and nephew did and seemed to enjoy it.

When we went to check out, we found out that my brother in law's room was $10 cheaper than ours. We had the same exact style room on the same floor, so my husband complained and was told that the manager wasn't there at the moment and that he would have to resolve the issue...the clerk at the front desk was unable to resolve it satisfactorily. We are waiting to see if this gets resolved after the fact.

Overall, if I am paying $139 a night, I expect a bit more than what was offered. It was not worth the price, but it was our only option at the time. I will be booking our hotel for next year's warrior dash much sooner than I did this year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I travel a lot for business - I have never had an issue with a hotel. The lobby smelled windows have not been washed in years. I tried to cancel reservation prior to checking in . Would not refund my money - did reservation through Priceline - they will not refund my money either. Still trying to find ouit who owns the hotel.

Fair warning it is gross - while calling Priceline from the parking lot - big rat in what was their gardens!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

If this place were free, it would still be overpriced. Worn out and musty room. Exceptionally rude and unhelpful service. We were there to attend a nearby wedding, and all of us had different stories of how bad the place was -- We were unable to get an earlier than 4 p.m. check in, and as we had to leave earlier for wedding, we asked to change in restaurant bathroom. We were allowed to, but warned rest room had not been cleaned, which turned out to be an understatement. When we asked for toilet paper, we were told "We told you it hadn't been cleaned." It was a truly disgusting place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Cty, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Was very leery about staying here after reading the reviews. We booked a last minute 2-day getaway and wanted to stay fairly close to home, so not many choices. The room we stayed in was run down, but linens were fresh. The bathroom was clean and had one of those bathfitter surround tubs – no mildew and looked fairly new. The ac worked great. Some annoyances – could call front desk from room phone, but they couldn’t hear me. TV had lots of channels, but a few of them (two that we happen to like to watch) had no sound. Pool was clear, but could be a bit cleaner. The concrete area around the pool could use a real good powerwashing. The advertisement of a ‘lounge and restaurant’ is very debatable. It’s one room with some tables and a bar. Finding the place open was hit or miss. This was no ‘sit down and order food’ type of place. Bottom line – it needs major updating physically as well as with how it is advertised.
We were told new management took over two weeks ago (early July 2011), previous management ran the place to the ground. They were working on getting the kinks out. Good luck - there are a lot of kinks and other than the manager, all desk staff is VERY inexperienced in the hospitality business. Unless the management and the chain itself is willing to put in a lot of hard work and TLC, my guess is it won’t change much. Think this is a place meant for the overnight weary traveler. It’s a shame because it could be a nice place in an area that doesn’t have much else around it. They need lots of experienced staff to get this place right. It was my first time at a Quality Inn. The experience has left me not wanting to visit others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

During the past week my riding barn and I attended a horse show, HITS On The Hudson in Saugrities NY. When we first arrived at the hotel the outside looked fine and since it was a conference center we thought it would be very nice. we stepped inside and our minds changed. cobwebs were on the side of the wall and a strong unpleasant oder filled the hall way. ALso the hallways were very warm in our side of the building. Our room was very good compared to some others. the beds were OK and our Tv worked alright. I would have to complain about the service though, one day the maids did not show up at all. We were very mad because three people needed to take showers and there were no clean towels. We call and ask for towels, which don't show up for 20 minutes. The next day we run out of toilet paper and we ask the maid who was in the hall for some just for the meantime. she refuses to give us the toilet paper and hands us tissues to use. In some rooms there was no Wifi and the TV didn't work. we kept calling to get it fixed but over days no one came. In one particular hallway the heat was turned on in the hallways, even in 100 degree weather. In one room the air conditioner broke in the middle of the night, thankfully the staff moved the guests into another room. the pool is really nice and a great hang out space. what scares me is that the hotel does not lock their doors at night so anyone can try to come in. the bar and rest-rant are not appealing either because of their very limited menu choices. One last thing is the man behind the counter seemed like he did not know really what he was doing, which held up the line.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Conference Center

Address: 704 Rt. 23-B, Catskill, NY 12414
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Catskill
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Lodge of Catskill is located near all the attractions in the beautiful Catskill area. We are located in Leeds, NY directly off NYS Thruway Exit #21. We offer 62 rooms, including suites and feature a restaurant and lounge. There is an outdoor swimming pool and room feature standard amenities such as hair dryers, coffee makers, and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Catskill
Quality Inn Catskill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.