We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Always Enjoy Schodack Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schodack Diner, Ltd. - CLOSED

Schodack Diner, Ltd.
1842 Columbia Turnpike, Castleton On Hudson, NY 12033
518-477-5014
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family run restaurant featuring American Diner classics and authentic Greek specialties.
Castleton On Hudson, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We Always Enjoy Schodack Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

It was fun to watch this new place being brought in to replace an old well used building a couple years ago. It looks like a new old fashioned diner.

A retired colleague and I regularly look forward to a breakfast/brunch gab session at Schodack Diner. We appreciate the food, the attentive waitresses, the clean dining room and shining bathroom. My favorite is the Greek omlet and great rye toast. Though we do stay quite a while talking, the waitress always keeps our coffee and water filled.
We have been tempted by the dessert display and remarked on them as we were leaving today. Each is individually covered so the flavors don't mix - we were told that they make each dessert right ther. Next time we might have to have cake or pie after breakfast!

Our favorite visit was last December when we sat by one of the big windows as it was snowing outdoors. It added to our pleasant time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Was not happy with our visit.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

The owner was curt when asked a question about if real butter was used. They used way to much salt. The bread selections were poor it was like supermarket bread. We will not go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Foodman60,

I am surprised to hear you did not like our bread because we get positive feedback almost daily about all of our breads including our sandwich bread, toast, french toast, etc. and our dinner rolls are a hit. I am not sure what bread tasting like "supermarket bread" means exactly. We do use "real" butter and unlike many/most restaurants all of our meals including our soups are made fresh and don't come frozen in a bag with added salt/preservatives. I apologize if you had something that you thought to be too salty but generally we add little salt in order to allow our customers to do so to their liking. I appreciate your visit and hope you try us again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schodack, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Atmosphere, Excellent FOod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were referred to the Diner by our hote and we're very please with the food and service. My husband and I got the roast chicken and our children got the kids meals. Everything was great and on our next trip, we're certain to mcome back to this place!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service/ Marginal food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have given this diner three separate attempts to redeem themselves. Each time, the service has been terrible and the food only marginal. Today was the third and last time which is a shame since the owner is a nice old man who opened this business just a couple of years ago. My corned beef hash omelet showed up first as a corned beef omelet; and after the waitress disputed what I had ordered she begrudgingly brought me a mystery omelet that I could not eat. Terrible.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Ms. P, I am a manager at the Schodack Diner and I was standing at the cash register/front bar near where you were seated and clearly heard your order being taken as did at least 2 other people who can vouch for the following. When you ordered a corned beef omelet, our waitress, thinking you had an unusual order and wanting to prevent any miscommunication asked, "Are you sure you want a corned beef omelet and not a corned beef hash omelet?" and you replied that a corned beef omelet is what you wanted. After your order arrived, you changed your order to a corned beef hash omelet. (You were not charged for the first omelet). A minute before your second order came out, you changed your mind again and said you didn't want your second order either but by then it had already been prepared and you were charged. You were not charged for the first omelet and were charged for the second and considering the circumstances I think this is more than fair as there was nothing wrong with either item and any miscommunication or misunderstanding was on your part. Making a personal attack on our food by calling it a "mystery omelet" and service by calling it terrible is completely uncalled for when that's not the case at all. Our corned beef hash is a finely chopped mixture of potatoes, onion, corned beef and spices. Many people order it every time they stop in and love it. Where's the mystery in that?? Since day 1 we have been committed to providing prompt friendly service and a large variety of great homemade food at affordable prices. It's unfortunate that certain people find it necessary to post biased or erroneous reviews that are anything but accurate or truthful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food at a Great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I was on vacation with my husband and we stayed at the Knights Inn just up the road from this diner. We ate our breakfast their every morning, it was great. The food was very good, with good portions. I will stop there again on my next trip back home, I have family in the area. The people that work their are very freindly and they make you feel right at home, I'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schodack Diner, Ltd. also viewed

Castleton On Hudson, NY
 
Castleton On Hudson, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schodack Diner, Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.