We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to falls, food decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Iris Inn

Glen Iris Inn
7 Letchworth Park, Castile, NY 14427
585-493-2622
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Castile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Close to falls, food decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had lunch at the Glen Iris Inn as it is ideally suited right across from one of the nicest waterfalls in Letchworth State Park. The food was decent...not terrific...priced at about $10-$15 each for lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great 'old-world' hotel and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived here on spec and wanted lunch. This was no problem despite the hotel hosting a large wedding party which must have been keeping the kitchen pretty busy - the wedding party were dining in a private area away from the main restaurant. The restaurant will refund your $8 admission charge to the park (in cash) which is a nice touch.
Our witer was very freindly, knowledgeable and efficient. We sampled various of the dishes on the ain menu and all were very good. the Monte Cristo and the Reuben are especially recommended. We dined on the patio of the hotel which makes a lovely stting on a nice day. the hotel itself is full of old-world charm and looked like it would make a great overnight stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakfield, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Glen Iris Inn is a local landmark in the area. The menu has a wide selection, and the food is very good, and service is quite good. As with some older restaurants, the décor is a little dated. However, the view is incomparable. If you get into this area of NY state, I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A little haven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm not really sure how to rate this place as its an inn, restaurant, wedding venue, gift shop and ore. All i did was drink a cup of tea whilst enjoying their terrace.

I was surprised that what had been described as a fine dining restaurant had only a choice of green tea, orange pekoe or herbal... Not a single plain black tea. That said, our server was chatty, helpful and welcoming. The reception staff rather less welcoming.

There was a wedding in the grounds, I can see the attraction but found the noise from the disco out of place and irritating in such a beautiful setting.

I wonder how good the food is? I expect it will be at least ok. Prices seem a little steep but they do refund your entry fee. I will certainly be eating here on my next visit.

I can imagine a weekend break here would be very peasant indeed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful property and gorgeous view. My husband and I stayed at the Glen Iris Inn on their Summer Package which is excellent value for the money. For $230 (taxes & tips included) we received 1 nights accommodation (the room was tiny) a 4 course dinner (the service and food were impeccable) and full breakfast the following morning (huge portions you won't need lunch). Highly recommend a visit to this beautiful property and excellent restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Iris Inn also viewed

 

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Iris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.