We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Letchworth State Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letchworth State Park

Letchworth State Park
Castile, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Castile
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Called the "Grand Canyon of the East," visitors come to this 14,340-acre park to view the dramatic 600-foot cliffs, the famous "Vale of the Three Falls," and to picnic, hike or camp.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time at Letchworth State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great campground, affordable prices, friendly staff, beautiful park - Only complaint was the "carry in carry out policy" No garbage cans anywhere - probably the reason for the garbage on the trails.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    106
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you're in the area or if you like hiking and camping, make the trip to this beautiful place! I can only speak to the cleanliness of the park, the clear and easy-to-follow signage in the park, and the ease of accessing and viewing the gorgeous canyons and waterfalls even if you're not hiking. For the non-hiker or someone in the park for only the day or only a few hours, the lower falls was a 1,000' walk from the parking lot. Everything else was really close! The trails [more like a big-wide paths] are well marked, including distances, to inform visitors what lie ahead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“over 14,000 acres truly is Grand Canyon of East!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Like all of it, met up with friends camping etc. so many trails, difficult trails are marked. So many tho for every level !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soooo worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a beautiful must see park! It is a green, plush, clean eleven miles drive through the park from the front entrance to the tent sites. The camp sites were clean and ready for tents. The tent site bathrooms were clean and all toilets, showers, and sinks were working. The camp store had a huge variety of items for sale from s'mores to air mattresses. The laundry facility was clean and easily accessible right next to the camp store.
We enjoyed all of the overlooks and the trails that we hiked. We were astonished that all of this creation is on the east coast. Mid-afternoon coffee on the porch at the Glen Iris was just what we needed and breakfast there the next morning was delicious. A highlight of our trip was the five mile rafting trip with the Adventure Calls Outfitters. Such fun to ride the rapids, float in the river, and jump into the pool under the waterfall! Our guide Tim was witty, informative, and fun to have in our raft. We did use the pool one afternoon after hiking...how refreshing that was! Changing rooms, showers, and toilets, are all available for the $2.00 entrance fee. There is nothing commercial about this park...just good outdoor fun! I would definitely camp again in Letchworth State Park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“30 plus years later still worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited Letchworth as a kid with my Family. This year i came back with my wife and my own kids, I was just a great as i remembered.
The park is very well kept, as i have found with most new York campgrounds. The falls and the trails were great with the trails being easy to navigate. I highly recommend a visit to this park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Letchworth State Park also viewed

 

Been to Letchworth State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letchworth State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.