We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Waterfall Is More Beautiful Than Niagara Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“View of Waterfall Is More Beautiful Than Niagara Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Glen Iris Inn for more than 30 years. The Inn is located in Letchworth State Park near Castile, NY. The Inn overlooks one of three waterfalls located in the park. Many weddings are held on the front lawn during the summer. There is a nice restaurant in the inn that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is a lovely spot for a romantic weekend. I do recommend getting a suite, since the regular rooms are quite small. Each room has the name of a type of tree rather than a room number. Rooms can be booked a year in advance for best selection.

Room Tip: I recommend booking a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alden, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for our Anniversary. My husband had proposed to me here. Nice place for a quiet get-away if you want to be away from TV and phones. Rooms are simple, but clean and quiet. Enjoyed a fabulous meal in the hotel restaurant. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I booked a standard room for a weekend getaway and it was fantastic. The room had a single double bed and lacked room for two people to move about. It was very old looking and had no TV in the room. I cannot stress enough that it exceeded my expectations. This place has character and a great staff.

We hiked the park all day and then came back and enjoyed time out on the veranda before cleaning up for dinner in the restaurant. Getting drink service on the veranda was challenging, with the staff disappearing for long periods of time, but that may be my only complaint. If you eat at the restaurant in the inn, I suggest ordering a coffee (they have many coffees for the 21+ crowd) and asking the staff to serve it outside. It's a great way to relax and enjoy the outdoors. If you want to spend time inside, there is a library with games and a TV, though during our stay we, and the other guests, were content to use it to read or to look out onto the waterfall which is lit at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Letchworth State Park is a beautiful park with waterfalls, scenic gorges and lots of hiking trails. Although we could have easily done a day trip from our home in the Rochester area, we decided to spend the night for a belated anniversary celebration. We chose the hotel/dining package, which is available during spring and fall, but not summer. We did not stay in the Glen Iris Inn itself, but rather at the Pinewood Lodge, which is a motel like structure located across the street from the Inn. Rooms were basic, but in a nice setting and included a small refrigerator and microwave. A trail behind it led up to the Council Grounds - one of the sights of the Park. We did look at standard rooms in the Glen Iris Inn and they were quite a bit smaller and did not have a fridge or microwave. Package rates for the 2 facilities were the same. The package included a 4 course dinner from the regular dining menu and a full breakfast from the menu. Taxes and gratuities were included in the price. One could probably stay and eat a bit less expensively if you did not order appetizers or desserts or the more expensive items on the dinner menu, but if you want to "live it up" the package is a good way to go! There are a couple of swimming pools on the grounds, which charge a fee for use. We did not go swimming. Middle Falls, right next to Glen Iris are lit up at night. You can also view these falls from the grounds of the Pinewood Lodge. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would like to go back during autumn leave season.

Room Tip: See review - rooms in Pinewood bigger than standard rooms in Inn itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I love the NY State parks, but can't believe how beautiful this one is - amazing, along with a wonderful, welcoming hotel, staff, restaurant, and beautiful surroundings. Very highly recommend - bring very good walking shoes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed there one night with my fiance and loved it. Charming, old style room (on TV's or radio in room) that was great but it does have central AC. Thank god for that since it was 90 degrees that weekend. Thought the staff was nice and the restaurant was great with good service. Expensive but no more expensive then any other nice restaurant. Plus you can have after dinner drinks and sit on the front porch just listening to the falls.

At night the middle falls gets light up as well which is a wonderful sight as well. Would recommend this hotel but just make sure you know that it is an old style inn and not a modern hotel. As long as you go in with that knowledge you should have a wonderful time.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We absolutely loved our time at the Glen Iris Inn. My husband and I went up north to Letchworth State Park to check out the scenery and beautiful waterfalls. We decided to stay at the Glen Iris Inn initially out of convenience, being that it's located inside the park. Letchworth is breathtaking alone, but then combined with Glen Iris Inn, it was the perfect weekend for us. It felt like a second honeymoon. All the people at the Inn, from check-in to check- out and everyone in between that we had contact with were pleasant and kind. Our dinner at the restaurant Caroline's was delicious, we went back the second night too and were just as pleased. Our waiter Joe ( we asked for him the second night, because he made such an impression on us the first night) was so friendly and knowledgeable of the park and the area- and he makes a mean Bananas Foster. ( and-they will hold your leftovers in the fridge for you!) Complimentary coffee served on the second floor between 7 and 10! Loved it!
The Inn is pretty to look at, inside and out, and the view of the falls out front is phenomenal... We very much enjoyed watching the Hot Air Balloon lifting up over the falls at sunset. We have definite plans to go back,

Room Tip: Our room, Hemlock, was on the small side, which was fine with us. Some people might want a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427
Location: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Iris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glen Iris Inn to your Saves list